Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

  • Subscribe

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,523 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 105 other followers

  • Top Posts

TSS: Changing Reading Habits

Posted by Caitie F on February 12, 2012

I hope everyone has had a nice weekend. On Thursday I left work early because my eye was bothering. Went to eye doctor and I have a cornea infection. I have been doing drops and have only worn my contact two hours all weekend (right now in fact). So there has been a lot of sitting around and stitching and “watching” TV I don’t need to see (aka Star Trek Next Generation). Not much reading I can see close up, but the bright lights I need hurt my eye. My main test for if I could work tomorrow was when I could put the contact in tonight if I could handle the light sensitivity. I went only 25 minutes on my computer and then it hurt. Add in the fluorescent lights at work and I would be useless. Staying home tomorrow for one more day of healing and seeing doctor. If it doesn’t get better, I will be contact-less at work on Tuesday.

But that is not how my reading habits have changed. I have only read two books for pleasure this year. The other 6 books I read were all for work. I am not complaining, I get to read books for work and get to read books that are very different from what I normally read. But it has taken away from my pleasure reading and I miss it. I am trying to increase my reading in general.

That does means changes to this blog. I schedule a lot of posts months in advance  since I am reading for work (I have a review scheduled for September already!). I am reviewing many different types of books and more literary books. So posts will be much more sporadic.

There will also be more non-books or editorial posts.

I will get used to it and I hope my reading picks up…my to-read list is so long and I want to get to it!

How do you deal with having to change your habits? Any tips?

2 Responses to “TSS: Changing Reading Habits”

  1. I’m so sorry to read about your eye! I have trouble with a virus in my eye so I know how lousy it can make you feel. I wish I had some tips for you, but I things will work out if you don’t force it.

  2. Amanda said

    Ouch on the eye issue! I hope it gets better soon for you Caitie!

    I’m not sure on the reading tips. My problem has always been having too much time on my hands to read, and trying to find other things to do with that time, so I don’t read too much. :/

Leave a Reply

 
