Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Time Machine by H. G. Wells

Posted by Caitie F on January 5, 2012

Title: The Time Machine 
Author: H. G. Wells
Hardcover:  124 pages
Year Published: 1895
Rating: ++++

Summary from goodreads:

When the Time Traveler courageously stepped out of his machine for the first time, he found himself in the year 802,700–and everything had changed. H.G. Wells’s famous novel of one man’s astonishing journey beyond the conventional limits of the imagination is regarded as one of the great masterpieces in the literature of science fiction.

Review:

I wanted to read a novella and when I saw that this is considered the first science fiction book ever, I knew it was something I wanted to read.

It was really good, when you consider that it is the first. These ideas were not cliche and nothing had been done before. I had to keep reminding myself of that and when I did I was delightfully surprised.

The writing is great. The idea of the future is unique and, over 100 years after it was written, still makes sense and fits how our society is going today into the future. The reactions of The Time Traveller’s acquaintances is also fascinating. No one has a name, they just are what they do. There is “The Medicine Man”, “The Editor”, “The Psychologist” and more. They react exactly how you would expect people in these professions to react and it is a accurate portrayal.

Without this book, science fiction may not be what we know and love today. Take a chance to see where it all started!

4 Responses to “The Time Machine by H. G. Wells”

  1. […] The Time Machine by H G Wells 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15 Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); […]

  2. Amanda said

    Something about Wells’ writing really bothers me. I haven’t read this book, but I’ve read two of his others and I don’t know, we just don’t seem to get along. I had to read War of the Worlds for a book club I was leading, and I only made it through by listening to the audio version. Even then, I wanted to throw the book across the room (not a good thing, since it was on my ipod!!). I really WISH I could get into him, but I’m scared to try anything else!

  3. My son loves this book.

Leave a Reply

 
