Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne

Posted by Caitie F on December 26, 2011

Title: Around the World in 80 Days
Author: Jules Verne
Hardcover: 288 pages
Pub Year: 1872
Rating: +++

Summary from goodreads:

On a wager, the eccentric English gentleman Phileas Fogg accepts a challenge to circle the globe in eighty days. Follow Phileas and his faithful valet, Passepartout, in this fantastic adventure.

Review:

I am finally reading a book that is on the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list (and is on the Children’s list too)! It just took me all year to do it…

I have never read a Jules Verne book before, so when I was looking for books to bring to Ohio and saw this one that Jason got me a couple years back, I figured it would be a good read. It really was.

It was a perfectly enjoyable book, especially when you think of when it was written. I always have to remember to put that into context with books from the 19th century or earlier. The genre of adventure novels was much different than now. Now you need epic battle scenes and always grave danger to make people really seem to care most of the time. This was a softer adventure, but an adventure nonetheless!

I loved reading about the incredible Fogg, his sometimes bumbling valet , and the detective that is sure that Fogg is the robber. I, like Passepartout, cannot imagine traveling the entire globe and never seeing anything but modes of transportation…but I also ge tthe thrill of beating the clock to get back home and proving something!

I don’t want you to think that this adventure story is boring…it isn’t. There is a battle with Native Americans, saving of a damsel in distress, and many other adventures along the way.

If you have not read anything by Jules Verne, take a chance on this one. It is a short and fun read!

7 Responses to “Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne”

  1. […] Westerfeld 5. Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan 6. Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne 6. 7. Bossypants by Tina Fey 7. The Magicians by Lev Grossman 8. Forever Princess by Meg Cabot […]

  2. A wonderful book, good for you for reading it. When I read Verne’s books I’d like to read the newer translated version (usually by Verne Scholars) with ample footnotes.

    http://www.ManOfLaBook.com

    • Caitie F said

      I read one of the newer ones with footnotes and am glad I did! There was wonderful colloquial language I would not have appreciated as much tithout them!

  3. I think I saw the movie version of this – I’m sure the book is better.

  4. Shonna said

    Cool. I didn’t do that well on the 1001 Challenge myself. Are you planning to run it again?

  5. […] Westerfeld  5. Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan 6. Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne 6. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami 7. Bossypants by Tina Fey 7. The Magicians by Lev […]

Leave a Reply

 
