Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Posted by Caitie F on December 23, 2011

Title: Daughter of Smoke and Bone 
Author: Laini Taylor
Hardcover:  418 pages
Publication Date: 9/27/11
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Rating: +++++

Summary from goodreads:

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages–not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers–beautiful, haunted Akiva–fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Review:

I have heard a lot about this book and was leery, until Caryn said I would love it and someone at work talked about it and lent it to me. Then I read the first page and was instantly hooked. I can still remember those words that made me dive right in.

“An angel and a demon fell in love. It didn’t end well”

It was so simple, yet so intriguing.

That got me to start but the beautiful writing, insanely strong and fascinating characters, and brilliant storytelling had me wishing I had longer lunch breaks.

There were so many twists and turns that I didn’t see coming, which was a very pleasant surprise. I thought it would go in one direction…and I was 10000% wrong!

I am not quite sure why this has been categorized as straight YA. I honestly can’t see 13-15 year old me liking it. It seems like it is YA in that actual young adults would enjoy it even more. That 18-30 age bracket that no one writes specifically to.

But whatever your age, it is a great book and what I hope is just the beginning of a brilliant series!

One more thing..isn’t that cover just stunning?

2 Responses to “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor”

  1. This one got so much buzz at BEA I’ve been a little hesitant to pick it up. I’m glad to see it’s worthy of the buzz.

  2. […] Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor […]

Leave a Reply

 
