Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

Posted by Caitie F on November 20, 2011

Title: The Demon King
Author: CInda Williams Chima
Hardcover: 506 pages
Publisher: Hyperion
Publication Date: September 2009
Rating: +++++

Summary from goodreads:

This novel marks the first giant step in a momentous fantasy journey orchestrated by Cinda Williams Chima, the author of the popular Warrior Heir series. Its two chief protagonists are ex-thief Han Alister, an impoverished commoner, and Raisa ana’Marianna, the headstrong Princess Heir of the Fells. The Demon King brings them together, creating part of a volatile mix of action, magic, and danger. Empathetic characters; wizardly attacks

Review:

I have been reading amazing book after amazing book lately! I have always loved fantasy, but one bad fantasy book can turn me off of the entire genre for months. One LONG one (Game of Thrones) can make me need a break. It has been over two months since I read a fantasy and luckily this one reminded me why I love the entire genre, and YA fantasy specifically.

The Demon King  has it all. THere are wizards, clans, princesses who are more than they seem, guards who are more than they seem, and a boy finding out there is much more to him than he could ever imagine. There is romance and actions and suspense. There are several times when it looks like someone may die (and people sometimes do in this dangerous place). I sped through the book because I just needed  to know what happened next.

There was also a lot of kindness and intelligence. People didn’t just jump into plans without thinking it through first. They worked together and faced obstacles. It felt like it was how real leaders act and think, which makes it easy to get lost in their scary and beautiful world.

The history of the realms is very complicated and has many different stories to why there are limitations on magic and royalty. The backstory of each character and their family is just as interesting as what is going on with them in the present. The rich history makes the grudges and alliances that more brutal and tight.

This series is like the Game of Thrones series, but for kids. I would not be surprised if they pushed for movies or a TV show from it. I would be so excited to see it.

If you are looking for an amazing fantasy story, no matter what your age is, be sure to check this book out! The second one is waiting for me at the library and I can’t wait to read it (well…as long as I read another 200 pages of Clash of Kings first!).

2 Responses to “The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima”

  1. Lucy Hannah said

    Hey! Glad you liked Cinda Williams Chima, and Game of Thrones. You know if you don’t want to be turned off by the genre completely, but you want something like a quick read, you could try Flame of Surrender by Rhiannon Paille. She’s got a great series started, just needs more hardcore fantasy fans like you to see it. I only found it because I’m a YA junkie and lots of the people I’ve talked to about it, are interested, but not as enthusiastic as you seem to be about fantasy. Anyway, I’m rambling, and I liked your review too, so anyway I’ll be following you!

Leave a Reply

 
