Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan

Posted by Caitie F on September 22, 2011

Title: Glow
Author; Amy Kathleen Ryan
Hardcover: 307
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: Sept 27, 2011
Rating: +++

Summary (from goodreads):

What if you were bound for a new world, about to pledge your life to someone you’d been promised to since birth, and one unexpected violent attack made survival—not love—the issue?

Out in the murky nebula lurks an unseen enemy: the New Horizon. On its way to populate a distant planet in the wake of Earth’s collapse, the ship’s crew has been unable to conceive a generation to continue its mission. They need young girls desperately, or their zealous leader’s efforts will fail. Onboard their sister ship, the Empyrean, the unsuspecting families don’t know an attack is being mounted that could claim the most important among them…

Fifteen-year-old Waverly is part of the first generation to be successfully conceived in deep space; she was born on the Empyrean, and the large farming vessel is all she knows. Her concerns are those of any teenager—until Kieran Alden proposes to her. The handsome captain-to-be has everything Waverly could ever want in a husband, and with the pressure to start having children, everyone is sure he’s the best choice. Except for Waverly, who wants more from life than marriage—and is secretly intrigued by the shy, darkly brilliant Seth.

But when the Empyrean faces sudden attack by their assumed allies, they quickly find out that the enemies aren’t all from the outside

Review:

I really wanted to love this book. When I heard about it at BEA, it sounded like my kind of book. I am really into the dystopian books lately, and since this was more science fiction than fantasy, I was really excited!

It let me down though.

The good 

Waverly: For the first 290 pages I loved Waverly. She was bright, thoughtful, caring, and a completely kick ass leader. She was what made me like this book. She questioned what she was told not because she was a skeptical person, but because she had an analytical mind and saw that things were not really matching up.

The crisis: The fertility crisis in deep space was the cause of all of the problems. I thought it made for a more interesting crisis because it is about something essential to the survival of humans. Half of the human population was not going to survive and something had to be done. Was it handled the best way? Probably not. It made for an exciting story though.

The not so great

The boys – While the girls story had me at the edge of my seat, the boys was kind of disappointing. Maybe it is because I didn’t like the secondary male character and felt he was a little flat. It just didn;t have the asme urgency and struggle as the other story line.

the religion – Religion is a central theme of the book. I think it was portrayed as being too black or white. Either it was doing a lot of good for moral, or it was helping bad people usurp the power. There was no in between adn I think that would have enhanced the book.

The are you kidding me?

Waverly at the end: This is what made the book so disappointing for me. She goes from being a smart, likable character to a trusting, not so smart one. Maybe it is because of the black and white look at religion, but it made me like her much less.

Since that is the set up for her character for the next book, I think I will have to skip it.

I was really disappointed because I wanted to love it.

Did you read Glow yet? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

One Response to “Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan”

  1. Sorry it was a disappointment. I don’t think it’s for me either.

Leave a Reply

 
