Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

One Day by David Nicholls

Posted by Caitie F on September 1, 2011

Title: One Day
Author: David Nicholls
Paperback: 435 page
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton, Ltd.
Year Published: 2009
Rating:++++

Summary from goodreads:

It’s 1988 and Dexter Mayhew and Emma Morley have only just met. They both know that the next day, after college graduation, they must go their separate ways. But after only one day together, they cannot stop thinking about one another. As the years go by, Dex and Em begin to lead separate lives—lives very different from the people they once dreamed they’d become. And yet, unable to let go of that special something that grabbed onto them that first night, an extraordinary relationship develops between the two.
Over twenty years, snapshots of that relationship are revealed on the same day—July 15th—of each year. Dex and Em face squabbles and fights, hopes and missed opportunities, laughter and tears. And as the true meaning of this one crucial day is revealed, they must come to grips with the nature of love and life itself.

Review:

I saw the trailer for the movie a couple months ago and immediately wanted to see it. I adore Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess and thought the story looked incredibly cute. Well I knew my husband would NOT go see it with me and would be waiting for Netflx. So instead of just waiting, I decided to read the book!

Now, I am really glad I read it. I always like to read before seeing the movie if possible. My only issue was that I automatically saw the characters as the actors who are playing them. Now, I could have easily seen at least close to those two, but I will never really know. I like to think the casting was just that brilliant (look at me, saying brilliant, you would think I just finished reading a British book!!).

I can completely see why they would make this book into a movie. It is a classic love story told in an unconventional way. And the unconventional way worked extraordinarily well! The reader only got to see one day of every year. A lot went on between those days, yet David Nicholls was able to include everything significant so the reader could feel like they were caught up on Emma and Dexter’s lives. It was clever and not gimmicky at all, which I was concerned about.

Their relationship makes sense, it felt real and their problems and reconciliations felt real also. I got who they were and their motivations. It was easy to see how they made each other better people when they were friends, and that when they were fighting and not talking, they were both worse off for it.

I found myself caring about them so much and cheered when their lives were going well.

If you want a fun, incredibly written romance between two realistic people, do yourself a favor and go get this book!

2 Responses to “One Day by David Nicholls”

  1. I really liked this book too, but have heard the movie’s not that great. I may go see it anyway.

  2. Linda said

    I like the premise of this one. I haven’t seen the movie and probably won’t till it’s on Netflix. I’ll have to check the book out. Great review.

Leave a Reply

 
