Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Floors by Patrick Carman

Posted by Caitie F on August 27, 2011

Title: Floors
Author: Patrick Carman
Hardcover: 272
Publisher: Scholastic
Published: Sept 2011
Rating: ++++

Summary (from goodreads):

Charlie had his chocolate factory. Stanley Yelnats had his holes. Leo has the wacky, amazing Whippet Hotel.

The Whippet Hotel is a strange place full of strange and mysterious people. Each floor has its own quirks and secrets. Leo should know most of them – he is the maintenance man’s son, after all. But a whole lot more mystery gets thrown his way when a series of cryptic boxes are left for him . . . boxes that lead him to hidden floors, strange puzzles, and unexpected alliances. Leo had better be quick on his feet, because the fate of the building he loves is at stake . . . and so is Leo’s own future!

Review:

The comparison to characters from Roald Dahl and Louis Sacher is not an exaggeration in the summary. If you love the creativity that all of Roald Dahl’s bring, you should really pick up this book!

The story is really cute, but what hooked me is the creativity of the hotel and the kindness of the main character.

The hotel is described so well. I felt like I was actually walking through the rooms with Leo. What I really enjoyed is that there are some details left to the imagination. I actually found myself pausing every time a new room was explored because I wanted to really picture it and add some details of my own. I think kids are going to LOVE this setting and have a lot of fun imagining they are in these cool rooms. I don’t want to spoil any of them since the discovery is part of the fun!

I also loved Leo. He was a sweet kid who had gone through some hard times, but he still worked hard and cared about other. He reminded me a little of Charlie (of the chocolate factory fame), but he was a little more adventurous and fun!

The story was a little predictable as an adult, but I don’t think kids will see it coming.

This is one of the best middle grade books I have read, and I look forward to seeing more of Carman’s creativity!

And remember, always bring a duck.

One Response to “Floors by Patrick Carman”

  1. I adored Charlie and the Chocolate Factory as a kid, so I bet I’d like this one too.

Leave a Reply

 
