Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 (don’t worry no spoilers)

Posted by Caitie F on July 15, 2011

Ok, well no spoilers if you have read the books, but I won’t say if things were or were not in the movie. Any talk of it is just saying I hoped it would be there.

Last night I headed to the theater for the last Harry Potter movie. I didn’t care if it was late or crowded. I needed to be there for the midnight showing. I needed to be around people who were connected to this series and by this series. With others who would cheer when Neville killed the snake and cry when Harry used the Stone.I wanted to feel like I was with the community in a large scale one last time (well until I can finally go to another convention, but it was really the last time as a large group).

And it didn’t disappoint. The movie theater management did because it was a mess that resulted in us running from theater to theater to find an empty seat even though we bought our tickets a week ago (yeah, AMC heard about that one from me today!) and finally getting seats as the last trailer started.

But the movie didn’t disappoint at all. David Yates and all the actors got what this movie meant. It was almost perfect (one edit was a little off, but that is only ONE EDIT). My two favorite scenes of the entire series were not only in the movie, but were acted perfectly. I could not ask for more.

I laughed (so glad they added in a couple jokes that weren’t in the book). And I cried. I cried four times during the movie.

But more than that, as Jason and I walked out of the theater, I just had tears streaming down my face and I couldn’t stop.

It is over.

It is really over.

No more midnight releases. No more waiting anxiously to see what comes next or how they adapt it. No more excited anticipation and the long talks of what they better keep and how they better do it. Just…no more. There is a DVD release, but I just can’t get myself to be as excited about it. Will I get the inevitable 8 disc + Blu-Ray set? Yes, but it just won’t be able to be like this ever again.

Jason didn’t get it. I don’t think many people out of my generation can get it. Some will, but most won’t, not really. I read the first Harry Potter book when I was 12. I have been a fan from the very beginning. Now I am 24. Harry has ben with me for half my life.

I grew up with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. I learned things from them about love, respect, and friendship. This series was a huge part of my development into who I am today. I will miss them. I can always go back to the books, and I know I will, but it just isn’t the same.

I will miss Harry, Hogwarts, and the entire world that J. K Rowling created.

I think I will get back into wizard rock. I haven’t been interested in a while, but I miss the people. I made some great friends from this series and I don’t want to lose them now that it is down.

To end, I will just quote the amazing duo of Riddle (TM)’s song “For Jo”

“Enchanted the world with the story you wrote of a boy who was ordinary.
And now parents read to children who have long been asleep, ’cause they want to know more about wizard Harry. How far you have come. How far you have come.
So, Ms. Rowling, here is a song I wrote for you.
‘Cause I’m grateful for all that you’ve taught me, and inspired me to do.
You showed me good triumphs over evil, and you taught the whole world how to read.
So thank you, Ms. J.K. Rowling.
Thank you so much for Harry.”

2 Responses to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 (don’t worry no spoilers)”

  1. We plan to see this one this weekend. I’m glad to see it’s so good.

  2. Amanda said

    I never went to a midnight showing – at my age, with my kids, I definitely need my sleep! – but today Jason and I went to the matinee and it was just so wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

 
