Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

  • Subscribe

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,523 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 105 other followers

  • Top Posts

TSS: Reading Outside My Comfort Zone…Plus a Giveaway

Posted by Caitie F on July 10, 2011

While I was at BEA, I tried to look for books that were outside of my usual reads, but things that still looked interesting. I got more middle grade than YA, and lots of adult books that looked insightful, exciting, or just fun! So far, it has been going pretty well. I am glad I am trying new things!

But every so often I find out I don’t really like the books, and I tend to be disappointed about it. I want tot like books. I want to be able to finish it and give it a great  review and share it with everyone I know. I used to force myself to finish a book no matter what, but there are too many books out there that I want to read to finish books I am not into.

And I am giving a book that just wasn’t for me to one reader. It isn’t that the book was bad, it was entertaining, it just wasn’t for me!

So here is the book

Original Sin (Sally Sin #1) by Beth McMullen

On the surface, Lucy Hamilton looks just like all the other stay-at-home San Francisco moms. She takes her three-year-old son, Theo, to the beach, to the playground and to the zoo. She feeds him organic applesauce and free-range chicken. She folds laundry and plays on the floor with Matchbox cars until her knees ache. What no one knows about Lucy, not even her adoring husband, is that for nine years Lucy was Sally Sin, a spy for the United States Agency for Weapons of Mass Destruction. And that’s just the way she wants to keep it – a secret.

But when Lucy’s nemesis Ian Blackford, a notorious illegal arms dealer, hits the USAWMD’s radar, the Agency calls Sally Sin back to action to lure Blackford out into the open. Racing against time, Lucy must fight to save herself, her loving family – and, oh right – the world. Hilarious and resonant, ORIGINAL SIN is the story of one woman’s quest to find that most elusive work-life balance in the face of danger, intrigue, and proper recycling habits.

It is for US/Canada only.

If you are interested, post a comment with your email address. This will be open for one week. One extra entry for a tweet (please provide link).

Good luck!

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “TSS: Reading Outside My Comfort Zone…Plus a Giveaway”

  1. Ricki said

    I have seen a little bit of Original Sin around the web and thought it looked like a fun read!
    rickimc[at]aol[dot]com

Leave a Reply

 
