Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Peril at End House by Agatha Christie

Posted by Caitie F on June 4, 2011

This is a great summer reading book!

Title: Peril at End House 
Author: Agatha Christie
Hardcover: 252 pages
Publisher: Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers
Year Published: 1932
Rating: +++++

Summary (from goodreads):

A vacation at the Majestic Hotel in the Cornish countryside is just what Hercule Poirot thinks he needs…until he meets Nick buckley, the lovely young mistress and End House. When several near-death accidents befall Nick in a short period of time, Poirot suspects foul play. It’s a race against the clock to protect Nick from the next and possibly fatal blow, and find out who, or what, is behind her bad luck.

Review:

This is my third Christie book (which have all been Poirot by coincidence) and I loved it! Her writing is brilliant and beautiful. The mysteries are suspenseful and exciting. I never know who it was. Ever. I though I had it pinned right away and it was obvious, but I was wrong. My suspicion had committed a crime, but it was not attempted murder.

Since I have read a couple Christie books, I have talked to a lot of mystery fans about her…and it turns out they have not read anything she has written! I am trying to push them to try because she is so brilliant. They will also find, like I have, that they have been missing references all of their lives! Other TV shows and movies have so many little nods to Christie, it is just astonishing once you realize it!

It is so interesting to read mysteries that are back in the early 1900s. Some things never change. This book has drugs, cut brakes, forgery, and plenty of “accidents”. I could completely see it taking place in modern times, which I think is just another reason why Agatha Christie was so brilliant!

I will say that as I read reviews on goodreads, people who read a LOT of her books were able to figure it out right away…which could be annoying and make the rating go down, I am sure. Since I am still a newbie, I do enjoy it.

One last thing. Did you know that the Poirot book are in a specific order? I didn’t think it mattered until this book. Apparently, there were references and even some characters that were in previous books. I don’t really mind that I am reading out of order though and don’t think I will make an effort to go in order. I’ll just prepare to be entertained and mystified with each book!

Do you have a favorite Agatha Christie book? Do you have a favorite contemporary mystery? Let me know in the comments!

6 Responses to “Peril at End House by Agatha Christie”

  1. Wendy said

    I didn’t know there was a particular order. I have only read a few of her Poirot books, since I always liked Jane Marple more. Is there a webpage that lists them in the correct order? It would be fun summer reading to get through the lot of them. I’m just about finished reading all the Perry Mason books, and need a new project to get me through the summer.

  2. […] Buckley 4. A book with travel or movement: Across the Universe by Beth Revis 5. A book with evil: Peril at End House by Agatha Christie 6.  A book with a life stage:  Boys and Girls Together by William […]

  3. […] 4. A book with travel or movement: Across the Universe by Beth Revis 5. A book with evil: Peril at End House by Agatha Christie 6.  A book with a life stage:  Boys and Girls Together by William […]

  4. […] Diaries Series) 8. Extras by Scott Westerfeld 9. Boys and Girls Together by William Goldman 9. 10. Peril at End House by Agatha Christie 10. 11. 11. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  5. […] Series) 8. Extras by Scott Westerfeld 9. Boys and Girls Together by William Goldman 9. 10. Peril at End House by Agatha Christie 10. The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie 11. We the Animals by Justin Torres 11. […]

Leave a Reply

 
