Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

This is a Book by Demetri Martin

Posted by Caitie F on May 28, 2011

Title: This is a Book
Author: Demetri Martin
Hardcover: 269 pages
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing (Hachette Book Group USA)
Year Published: 2011
Rating: +++

Summary (from me):

The comedian best known for his charts and doodles has come out with a book. The book has short stories, really short stories, doodles, and many other comedic devises.

Review:

If you are a fan of Demetri Martin, either his stand up or his show Important Things, you will probably enjoy this book. I think Demetri is one of the funniest new comics in years, so I knew it was a book I had to check out.

Like many comedian books, it is very hit or miss. THe drawings and charts all hit. It is really what Demetri does best and they are worth buying the book. None of them have ever been done on his specials or TV show before, which made them a joy to see and had me laughing out loud at each one!

A lot of the other shorter jokes were very funny. I loved the really short stories that were only a few sentences, so they were really more traditional jokes. These were all new. However, there were some chapters that weren’t new. He had done the jokes in a special, or on a show. That was a disappointment. I wish he had come up with some more new material and no repeats.

There were some sections that just were not my sense of humor, but I know other will like it. If you have ever seen and enjoyed Demetri, this book is something you should try. It would also make a great gift – I am thinking of giving it to my brother and a couple other friends!

One Response to “This is a Book by Demetri Martin”

  1. I’m not familiar with Demetri Martin and feel like I’m missing out. This sounds like it’s worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

 
