Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

BEA – Quick Recap

Posted by Caitie F on May 27, 2011

Hey everyone! Well BEA is over for me (couldn’t do BBC) and over all it was great! I will end up with about a week’s worth of posts from it, but i wanted to do a quick recap.

Monday: Went in around noon and got my badge. Then I headed to a panel on The Arc of Publishing that talked about where the industry was going. I will have an entire blog just on that next week, but it was good news!

Then I headed to the Teen Author Carnival and got to see some really kick-ass female writers talk about why it is important that female characters in YA kick so much ass. I got to see some of the authors of my favorite books (Malinda Lo who wrote Ash  and Michelle Zink who wrote The Prophesy of the Sisters)

I left before the next panel for a cocktail party at Picador. I got to meet some wonderful bloggers and talk the industry with a lot of the staff. I finally met Kathy from Bermudaonion’s Weblog, Jenn from Jenn’s Bookshelves, Swapna from S Krishna’s Books, and so many others. (I am SO sorry if I am not mentioning you specifically it isn’t because I didn’t love meeting you, it is because I am exhausted and not thinking straight!)

Tuesday

I got there a little later than most so I would miss the initial rush. I went in and went straight for Scholastic, since i Knew they had some things I was wanted to check out. I got a couple books and saw they had Forever, which I knew another blogger friend of mine wanted. I got in line, and the woman from Scholastic handed me the last one that was out. She said “hold on I’ll get some more” and the person behind me glared at me for getting the last one, turned around, and swung her bag at my head. That was fun! Luckily, it was the only bad behavior I saw the whole time!

I then headed to a panel on Online book Discovery, which I will discuss next week. Sarah Dessen had a food truck with free whoopie pies, so i went to get one right when it opened…and I got to meet her!! She was super nice and the whoopie pie that I had (Sarah’s Strawberry Surprise) was delicious! I grabbed lunch wit ha friend the works at Random House, then came back.

I was able to go get Wendy Mass’ new book 13 Gifts signed, which was really exciting since i love her other work. Then I waited for 45 minutes to get The Magician King by Lev Grossman. I was fourth in line, so I got it! When I left, the line was huge! I am not done with the first book yet, but I am loving it so far!

After that, I went around to tables and networked with publishers. I got a few books that I will share later this weekend.

Wednesday

That morning, my bus got stuck in traffic for over an hour, so I was late and missed getting tickets for Rick Riordan and Scott Westerfeld. I was hoping to get something from Rick Riodran for my husband’s classroom since his students LOVE his books. I also missed getting Crossed, but hopefully i will win a copy in a giveaway or I can handle waiting until it come out.

I did get to a panel called The Report of My Death was Greatly Exaggerated: The Printed Book. It was a great panel, and I will post more about it next week!

I went to Chipotle with a great group of people including Kim from Sophisticated Dorkiness and Ash from English Major’s Junk Food. We went with several very nice and very smart women from HarperCollins. It was so delicious. I miss Chipotle!

I got back and networked for a few hours. I also fine tuned my blog pitch and my question for everyone. I decided I wasn’t going to ask what is big, I was going to ask what books everyone loved that didn’t have the big publicity money behind it. I got some amazing arcs and recommendations from it!

Thursday

I got there bright and early (well for me) with hopes of being toward the front of the Maureen Johnson line so I could do both things I wanted to go to, but they were already out of book before she was even there! So instead, I sat in the second row to see JANE LYNCH!! As you all know, I am a huge Gleek and I think she is hilarious. Well, she was really funny there, but she was also gorgeous, smart, and incredibly nice. I got to meet her and get an autograph. I cannot wait until her book comes out. I did fangirl after I was out of her sight a little.

The nI headed over to get in line for Kody Keplinger’s new book Shut Out. I LOVED The DUFF. I even said it was the best book I read in 2010. So you can imagine my excitement!

After that I grabbed lunch, then did one last round of networking. I wanted to take some time to read, so I read the first 70 pages of Shut Out, then went to figure out where to go for the Atria Food and Fiction event.

I found Simon and Schuster quickly, so I found a comfortable bench nearby to read. I had over an hour, and time just flew. The next thing I knew, it was 4:57 and I had finished Shut Out. I really enjoyed it. It may not have been as good as The Duff, but it was still fantastic. I will have to write and preschedule my review in the next two days!

I headed to the event at Atria and it was just wonderful. I got to meet some bloggers I had been looking for all week like Shelia from Book Journey, Reagan from Miss Remmers Reviews, and Beth Fish Reads. I got to talk with the brilliant peopel who work for Atria along with several of their amazing authors!

Conclusion

I met so many amazing people while at BEA, both bloggers and people in the industry. I have a stack of cards that I will go through next week to add everyone to my contact lists. I know I missed some people i wanted to meet, but there will always be next time!

It was a great experience and I would recommend it to bloggers, especially those who are trying to get more serious about blogging.

5 Responses to “BEA – Quick Recap”

  1. Linda said

    Sounds like a great time. I’m a gleek too and I’m jealous that you met Jane Lynch!

  2. Amanda said

    Glad you had a good time! I wish I could have been there and had lunch or dinner with you!

    • Caitie F said

      Me too! We all missed you – and talked about missing you. If I got any books you are interested in (I will post in the next couple days) let me know and I will send them to you when I am done!

  3. I’m so glad I got to meet you and wish we’d had more time to spend together!

    • Caitie F said

      Me too! At most, I got to grab lunch with a couple people. Why did there have to be so much going on? NExt year when I am a working at a publisher, I guess i will just have to be everyone’e contact so we can have official meetings together!

Leave a Reply

 
