Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Posted by Caitie F on April 28, 2011

Title: Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist
Authors: Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Hardcover: 183 pages
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Year Published: 2006
Rating: ++++

Summary (from goodreads):

So you’re a guy; you’re at a band show and your ex, the girl who dumped you, walks in with the new guy. Looking for a safe exit, you ask the girl you happen to sitting with to be your girlfriend for five minutes . You’re a girl; you’re at a get-together and your least favorite female strolls in. The stranger sitting next to you asks you to be his five-minute date. So what do you? You lock lips . Nick and Norah’s instant connect begins a roller-coaster “first date” that takes them through Manhattan and into themselves.

Review:

First things first: I wish i had read the book before seeing the movie. Yes, I would have liked the movie less, but I would have liked the book more so it would be a five star review. My biggest problem with the book is that I heard Nick as Michael Cera’s voice the entire book, which was quite irritating. Not that he was bad in the movie, I thought it was one of the few movies where I actually liked him, but Nick has a better voice than Michael Cera gave him.

But other than that, the book was amazing. Nick and Norah are such developed characters. I can see them, feel them, and I can imagine what a conversation with each character would be like, which is the ultimate test. Norah was so relatable, and i think many females could see themselves in her. She is smart, witty, and is sick of the crap that is going on around her. She felt like a senior in high school trying to figure out where her life is headed.

The story was cute, fun to read, and the music references were awesome. As someone who loves music, I really enjoyed looking at the playlists and the lyrics throughout the book. But it works even better because if you are not a huge music fan, it doesn’t take away from the rest of the book and is not distracting.

I highly recommend this book to others, especially if you have not yet seen the movie.

Has an actor’s voice ever made a book worse for you? Let me know in the comments!

6 Responses to “Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan”

  1. […] Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan 4. Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan 5. Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan 6. 7. 8. 9. […]

  2. […] Follow Me by Malena Watrous 4. Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card 5. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld 5. Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan 6. 6. 7. Bossypants by Tina Fey 7. 8. Forever Princess by Meg Cabot (Princess Diaries Series) 8. […]

  3. Amanda said

    I really like this one a lot, but I know I will never see the movie – too gross!!

  4. Linda said

    I felt the same way. But I did like the book too.

  5. I wonder how I missed this – I haven’t heard of the book or movie. The both sound good!

  6. […] Me by Malena Watrous  4. Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card 5. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld  5. Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan 6. Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne 6. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami […]

Leave a Reply

 
