Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Posted by Caitie F on April 13, 2011

Title: Bossypants
Author: Tina Fey
Hardback: 272 Pages
Publisher: Reagan Arthur Books (Hachette)
Year Published: April 5, 2011
Rating: +++++

Summary (from me):

This is a collection of essays by Tina Fey, covering everything from summer theater’s effects on an awkward young woman, to breast feeding, to Sarah Palin.

Review:

I got this book for my birthday from my husband. I got it a few days later, since it came out on my birthday, but it was worth the wait!

I love Tina Fey. I think she is a brilliant, confident, and hilarious woman. She is a feminist in the best meaning of the word (aka she knows women are capable of anything and encourages young women to rise above stereotypes and expectations).

I don’t laugh out loud at things very much (something that annoys my husband to no end!) but I was laughing at every page. I even had to go to a different floor so I wouldn’t wake anyone up from my laughing. It was really that funny.

I could not recommend this book enough to Tina Fey fans. If you love her, you need it. I am glad we bought it because I will want to reread it again and again.

If you aren’t sure about her, but like funny women who are strong and stand up for women everywhere, read it.

Now, if you hate Tina Fey for her politics or her elitist tendencies, she has plenty of material to make you hate her more in it too (which she explains in the introduction).

This is the funniest book I have read in years. Whether she is discussing her life growing up, the inside of Saturday Night Live and Sarah Palin (which was absolutely fascinating), or her love for her daughter, she does it all with a sense of humor that makes it a joy to read!

5 Responses to “Bossypants by Tina Fey”

  1. I can’t wait to read this one! I love Tina Fey!

  2. Linda said

    I’ll pick this one. I love Tina Fey!

  3. […] by Christopher Buckley 2. Freedom by Jonathan Franzen 2. 3. Across the Universe by Beth Revis 3. Bossypants by Tina Fey 4. If You Follow Me by Malena Watrous 4. Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card 5. Uglies by Scott […]

  4. […] Levithan 6. Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne 6. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami 7. Bossypants by Tina Fey 7. The Magicians by Lev Grossman 8. Forever Princess by Meg Cabot (Princess Diaries Series) […]

  5. […] Bossypants by Tina Fey […]

Leave a Reply

 
