Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg (plus giveaway!)

Posted by Caitie F on April 7, 2011

If you are reading this from the feed, please disregard the first post and read this one. The first was incomplete and  had the wrong link and was published before being corected

 

Title: Prom and Prejudice     
Author: Elizabeth Eulberg
Hardcover: 227 pages
Publisher: Point (Scholastic)
Year Published: 2011
Rating: +++++

Summary (from goodreads):

After winter break, the girls at the very prestigious Longbourn Academy become obsessed with the prom. Lizzie Bennet, who attends Longbourn on a scholarship, isn’t interested in designer dresses and expensive shoes, but her best friend, Jane, might be — especially now that Charles Bingley is back from a semester in London.

Lizzie is happy about her friend’s burgeoning romance but less than impressed by Charles’s friend, Will Darcy, who’s snobby and pretentious. Darcy doesn’t seem to like Lizzie either, but she assumes it’s because her family doesn’t have money. Clearly, Will Darcy is a pompous jerk — so why does Lizzie find herself drawn to him anyway?

Will Lizzie’s pride and Will’s prejudice keep them apart? Or are they a prom couple in the making?

Review:

I have to admit something. I have never read Pride and Prejudice. I don’t even know anything about it other than Colin Firth played Darcy in a movie  debut . I want to read it…but my list is so long that I have never gotten to it.

Yet I loved Elizabeth Eulberg’s debut and this book sounded great, so even though I don’t know the original I had to try it.

I just loved this book. Lizzie is so awesome. I could not imagine being in her place. She is tortured at the private boarding school because she is a scholarship student. It isn’t just name-calling, it is getting milkshakes thrown on her, coffee spilled on her, and nasty things written on her door and her wall. Yet she is a brilliant pianist and has the best teacher she could ever get so she pushes through it. She is flawed, but it is flaws that I understand and I think a lot of people could relate to her flaws and would be the same if they were in her shoes. It makes me love her character.

Not as much as I love Jane though. Jane grew up in the rich lifestyle, but she is also the nicest person in the world. She is always at Lizzie’s side and does not have a bad thing to say about anyone, even if they deserve it. Her kindness shows the hope that there is for people to look past socio-economic lines and I loved her.

I could go on and on why I love everyone in this book. I will skip some characters, but I know I have to mention Darcy. Oh Darcy. He was such a surprising character. He started off as a pompous jerk and he seemed to think that anyone without money was worthless. It turns out he is sweet and kind. I can understand why people love Darcy. HE is a great brother, has an amazing family, and is completely swoon-worthy.

This was such a great book. I think fans of the original would love it as much as newbies like me. It was a joy to read this book.

So I am giving you a chance to win my signed copy. I got to meet the author (who is amazing) a couple months ago and I got a copy signed for one of you!

Just fill out this form

It ends 4/15. You don’t have to be a follower to enter. There is only one bonus for tweeting.

Good luck!

 

3 Responses to “Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg (plus giveaway!)”

  1. I loved this book too! I think Eulberg is a fantastic writer.

  2. Linda said

    Sounds like a great read. Great review.

  3. […] Prom and Predjudice by Elizabeth Eulberg […]

Leave a Reply

 
