Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

TSS: Library Love

Posted by Caitie F on March 13, 2011

I love the libraries near me. They are great places.

 

Every month, I go to a library for a crafting meetup with over a dozen women for six hours. It is so much fun and without the library,we wouldn’t have a place to go where we could have a room to ourselves, our own food, and plenty of plugs for people who need them.

My local library, which is right behind my house, has amazing librarians. They know I am looking for a job and am looking out for things for me. They have already called me with two jobs to apply to. They are always helping me and others with so much stuff. I was getting tax forms and didn’t know what I needed, and someone came over to help me.

I am always talking to them about new books and getting (and giving) recommendations. They know all of their regular patrons and look out for all of them. The library is small, but they still have great programs for kids and a lot of fun things going on. They even added a “YA area” with bright, colorful chairs, and all the YA books. It isn’t quite like the place we go crafting where they have TWO ROOMS for tweens and teens, but they did a great job with the space they have.

The only complaint I have at all is that they need to weed out some of their collection. I was looking at some nonfiction books and they had a sewing book from the sixties. Yeah…they don’t make sewing machines like the ones in that book anymore. They really should look through what they have and take out the out of date titles.

Libraries are just great places, we need to support them.

What kind of great stuff does your library do?

One Response to “TSS: Library Love”

  1. Well said 🙂 Right now, I spend most of my time going to the main library in Madison, so it’s quite big. I’m pretty anonymous there, but that’s ok with me. I love how well the entire system works together — I can get just about any book I want through the library loan systems, and it’s so convenient. I don’t go do a lot of library events, but I’m hoping to start doing that more this year.

Leave a Reply

 
