Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

A Blind Date With Books

Posted by Caitie F on February 13, 2011

My library has an awesome Valentine’s celebration to “Go on a blind date with a book” They wrapped a bunch of books in brown paper and decorated them, and you can check them out and find out what they are when you get home (or look on the slip you get). If you like it, you can write a review and they will share it with patrons. If not, you can return it, no questions asked! 😀

I got two, and my husband got one. I got a Patterson book and A Million Little Pieces, which I have been meaning to read for a while. Jason got Ford County by John Grisham, which eh isn’t interested in, but I want to read it.

I thought this promotion was so cute, I may go by tomorrow and get some more. I am going to read all of them, at least a little to see if I like it. I like the idea of just trying a random book. Yes, I know what I like, but I am often surprised. There were books I thought I would love that I hated, and thanks to bloggers I started loving genres or authors I never thought I would have considered!

Now, I can’t do this all the time because I have so much in my physical TBR pile and my list of books to read, but I like it every so often!

Does your library do any fun promotions? Our has done more lately for adults, which I think is a great pattern and I hope it continues!

4 Responses to “A Blind Date With Books”

  1. Amanda said

    What a fantastic idea!! I love it! I’m going to mention it tonight to my library friend when we go out for ice cream. 😀

  2. That does sound like a lot of fun! As far as I know, our library doesn’t do anything like that, but they do have some fun events.

  3. Darlyn said

    This sounds like a great idea. I wish my library had something like this, since I really need to be more adventurous when it comes to choosing reading material.

    I’ve heard of a library where you can “check out” people. For a set period of time, you can converse with someone who has an interesting job or has been through something really unique. Last time I checked the blog post, you could “check out” a Tibetan monk, a cancer survivor, etc. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
