Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Need to Get Motivated

Posted by Caitie F on January 6, 2011

Over the past couple months, I have lost some motivation in a lot of things. I am not pushing for that dream job as much since I have been so discouraged. I have been eating garbage and not exercising since I just don’t care. I have let some relationships with friends fall to the side since it was too much work.

Well, I want that to stop now, which is why I am writing this post.

One thing that I know will help a lot is if I start living a more healthy life style. I have a spark people account and am going to try to start using it more and may even blog a little there. If you have an account, go check out my page. Connecting to others really helps me and keeps me accountable, so I would love it if you were my friend on there.

It is not just about losing weight for me, it is about feeling better. Yes, I should lose some to minimize pressure on my bad hip, but that is just a side goal.

I, like most people in America, have a pretty bad sugar addiction. I need tot stop eating so many sweet things. To do this, I will start small. I won’t buy gummi bears at the coffee shop at work, even though they are delicious. I will also stop buying candy from the vending machines so often. I will only do it once a week, instead of three times. Along with this, I will pack healthy snacks: fresh vegetables and low-fat dip, a piece of fruit, etc to limit the temptation to go to the vending machine or coffee shop.

I am also really bad about portions. I will start measuring out my cereal and my snacks. If the serving is 1 ounce of potato chips, I will have one ounce. I will serve smaller portions at dinner and make sure they are actually one portion. When we go out to eat, I will only eat half of what they give me (and I will also look at my Eat This, Not That book before we go).

I need to eat more fruits and vegetables. I saw a great article about how to add more veggies to meals and I should start. It is simple things like adding them to what you already eat and making them taste better.  I will try to eat some fruit for dessert instead of ice or adding fruit to things I am eating, like yogurt or cereal.

I know doing all of this will just make me feel better. When I did it before I had more energy and was in a better mood and more motivated in general. I think it will be great if my husband and i can work on all of this together!

What do you do to stay motivated? Do you have any food related goals this year? Let me know in the comments

2 Responses to “Need to Get Motivated”

  1. Amanda said

    I really need to eat healthier too…sigh.

  2. Caryn said

    I totally agree with this post…my motivation for a lot of things has wavered–I could have written the same first paragraph. And working at BK does not help–since I eat fast food every day (sometimes more than one meal), I feel so sluggish, and I fall asleep at 7pm some nights.

    So, I wish you luck in your goals, and just know that you are not alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
