Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

TSS: Happy New Year!

Posted by Caitie F on January 2, 2011

I hope everyone had a great New Year’s Eve and has enjoyed the first day of 2011! We had friends over to play games and celebrated Jason’s birthday too! It was a great way to ring in the New Year.

Today we are heading out to spend gift cards we got for the holidays. We are getting a new TV for upstairs that will be easier for me to see and a PS3 so we have a new player for DVDs and have more to do in the house that doesn’t cost extra. It is an investment in saving :-D.

I start reading Room on Friday thinking I would finish it yesterday and it would be my first book of the new year and qualify for challenges. I was done on Friday because it was so good that I couldn’t put it down. Urg. But it was absolutely fantastic and I can’t wait to go to my book club and discuss it!

I get tomorrow off for work and I am ready to relax…and do some cleaning. Should be a good day! I will end with my goals for the year

Goals:

I try not to call them resolutions, because those are easily broken, but I like to make some basic goals.

1. Cook more. I only want to eat out twice a week for dinner and cook the rest.

2. Eat healthier. I was really good about this at the beginning of the year last year thanks to my “Eat This, Not That” books, but stopped. I need to start again. It is a little about weight to get pressure off of my hip, but I also just felt better and had more energy

3. Go to the gym more! We don’t go enough and i love going. We need to make the effort.

4. Do a better job of budgeting. We have a lot of debt and with my current job, we could put a good dent in it if we budget well. We have holiday and Jason’s birthday gifts to spend on a couple bigger items this week, but once we do that we will have more to do in the house, so we will try to spend less money!

5. Learn to sew. I have a machine and a couple books and I really want to learn how to. This would help budgeting because I have heard bags are a fun project that people would love as present.

6. Learn how to knit. Same as above, but I also think it would be relaxing.

7. Finish the cross stitch I have been doing for years for my mom.

8. Get a job in my industry. I don’t have much control over this, but I will continue to do all I can. I know this would imrove my overall happiness with life so it needs to happen!

9. Finish all my reading challenges this year. The point is to have a more diverse reading list this year.

10. Win in poker online. I have been one or two places away from winning SO many times, so I actually want to win!

That seems like a lot, but if I actually do it, I know i will be much happier. 2010 sucked, so here’s to a better 2011!

2 Responses to “TSS: Happy New Year!”

  1. Good luck with your goals. Happy New Year!

  2. Amanda said

    I need ot learn to sew at some point too.

Leave a Reply

 
