Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Christmas Letters by Debbie Macomber

Posted by Caitie F on December 15, 2010

Title: Christmas Letters 
Author: Debbie Macomber
Hardcover: 272 pages
Publisher: Mira
Year Publisher: 2006
ISBN: 0778323498
Rating: ++++

Summary (from goodreads):

Katherine O’Connor often spends her days at a cozy café on Blossom Street in Seattle–where she writes Christmas letters for other people. She’s good at making their everyday lives sound more interesting. More humorous. More dramatic.

But for Dr. Wynn Jeffries, who also frequents the café, Christmas means lies and deception. In fact, the renowned child psychologist recommends that parents “bury Santa under the sleigh.” Katherine, however, feels that his parenting philosophy is one big mistake–at least, based on her five-year-old twin nieces, who are being raised according to his “Free Child” methods.

Review:

I never read anything by Macomber before. I was at the library and they had a bunch of Christmas books out so I grabbed it (and four others…).

Most of the year, I am not a fan of romance books. They are sappy. And predictable. And just not my thing. But set it around Christmas and give it to me in December and I LOVE it. Maybe I believe in the romance of the season. Maybe I am just more sentimental this time of year. Whatever it is, it gets me to read fun books.

That is exactly what this book is – fun. If you read the summary, you can figure out what happens. The journey there is fun and enjoyable. I look forward to reading the other book I got out of the library by her!

Have you read any of her books, Christmas of not? Let me know in the comments!

 

One Response to “Christmas Letters by Debbie Macomber”

  1. We must be twins! I only like books like that during the holidays. I have one of Macomber’s Christmas books but it doesn’t look like I’ll get to it this year.

Leave a Reply

 
