Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Going Bovine by Libba Bray

Posted by Caitie F on December 13, 2010

Title: Going Bovine
Author: Libba Bray
Hardback: 480 pages
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Year Published: 2009
ISBN: 9780385733977
Rating: ++++

Summary (from goodreads):

Can Cameron find what he’s looking for?

All 16-year-old Cameron wants is to get through high school—and life in general—with a minimum of effort. It’s not a lot to ask. But that’s before he’s given some bad news: he’s sick and he’s going to die. Which totally sucks. Hope arrives in the winged form of Dulcie, a loopy punk angel/possible hallucination with a bad sugar habit. She tells Cam there is a cure—if he’s willing to go in search of it. With the help of a death-obsessed, video-gaming dwarf and a yard gnome, Cam sets off on the mother of all road trips through a twisted America into the heart of what matters most.

Review :

This book was nothing like I expected it to be. I don’t know what I expected, but it was not a fantastical, exciting adventure that made me care about a character that doesn’t really care about anyone or anything. It was funny, but I didn’t find it as hilarious and some other have.

It is loosely (very loosely) based on Don Quixote.  I was very skeptical about the book, until Bray made it clear that it was just a dream towards the beginning of the adventure. I did not want to read this whole adventure and then find out it was all in his imagination while he was on his death bed. Since she made it clear, it made reading the book fun and a joy.

The writing was fantastic. Libba Bray has a way with words that is unique and captivated. I fell in love with her writing style in the Gemma Doyle series. Now that I have read this book and a few of her short stories, I am willing to say she is one of the best writers that is currently writing. I think any writers who write fantasy should read her not for the stories, but to see HOW she writes them, even if it is just her short stories. They all illustrated that she is a writer who knows her craft. I cannot wait to read more that she has written.

Cameron is not a like-able guy at first, but readers will find that he is not wrong, just wary because of what he sees. He grows and sees some good in people, he learns to actually live, but he never loses his unique and creative voice.

My favorite scenes were all of the parts at the Party House. I remember watching the same kind of thing on MTV when I was in high school and the Spring Break arty House looked liked the coolest thing. His idea of what it would be fit both his character and high schoolers in general would want it to be like.

Did you read it? What did you think? Did you have any favorite scenes? Let me know in the comments!

4 Responses to “Going Bovine by Libba Bray”

  1. I haven’t read it but I think it sounds great!

  2. Erin said

    I haven’t read Going Bovine yet, but I do have a copy waiting for me on my shelves. I love the cover, and the premise sounded too off the wall to ignore. It sounds like it’ll be interesting!

  3. Amanda said

    I wish I’d been able to read this one. I had an ARC of it, signed and all, but of course I have that drug phobia and I couldn’t get past the beginning of this one. 😦

  4. […] 13. Most beautifully written book in 2010? This is a tough one, but I will say Going Bovine by Libba Bray […]

Leave a Reply

 
