Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Matched by Ally Condie

Posted by Caitie F on December 12, 2010

Title: Matched
Author: Ally Condie
Hardback: 366 pages
Publisher: Dutton Juvenile (Penguin)
Year Publisher: 2010
ISBN:  9780525423645
Rating: +++++

Summary (from inside flap):

In the Society, Officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one. . . until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with an impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s know and a path no one else has ever dared follow — between perfection and passion.

Review:

I went in thinking this book would be okay. There was too much hype for it to really be that good, right? Okay, so I was wrong. I loved it. I went to bed thinking I would read a couple chapters because I was exhausted. An hour later, I had to finally put it down and go to sleep. I woke up and ignored everything else (sorry Jason) until I was done.

I loved the world that was built. The basics reminded me of one of my favorite books of all time, The Giver. The society where no one had any choices, but they had a good life so it was okay. This world took it to a who.e new level. It wasn’t just a community, it was a nation. It was technologically advanced and had roots in our own history. The world was amazing and I think if the world was not as good, the book would have been lacking.

The characters were excellent. I felt connected to all of them, even ones that seemed minor. Cassia’s friend Em was a perfect example of what most people in The Society are like. Cassia’s parents were opposites, but they both did what was best for their family and put their families first. I could go on and on about all of the characters and what made them special and memorable, but you wouldn’t really want me to do that.

The character that struck me the most and sets everything in motion is her Grandfather. He questioned everything, he wondered, and he instilled that in both Cassia and her father. Even though he was gone early in the book, his words and ideals were throughout. Inspirational, caring, and an intense love for family were some of his best traits and they have been passed down the generations.

I thought the writing fit the audience very well. It wasn’t the best, but it is a style and a voice that young adults will connect wit hand enjoy. I even thought the description of Cassia worked. It usually bugs me when a character look in a mirror and says what she sees, but here it fit because of the context. It even when back to that moment later in the book, and the parallel showed a way that a cliche writing technique could work very well.

I don’t want to say much about plot because I don’t want to spoil anything, but it kept my attention and made me think more than I thought it would. The romance was believable and felt very natural, nothing felt forced or cheesy.

I really look forward to reading the next book in the series.

There are so many things wrong with the society. People dying at 80 no matter what. Giving no real choices in life, only artificial ones like “will I go to a movie, listen to music, or play games doing my two hours of free time?”. Getting rid of all culture except for 100 poems, 100 books, 100 songs. Think of all of the culture that was lost, how difficult it must have been to pick 100 and destroy the rest. It is a job I could never do.

Did you read it? What did you think? What shocked you most about the society? Let me know in the comments!

3 Responses to “Matched by Ally Condie”

  1. Amanda said

    I’m glad you liked it! I thought it was very well done. 🙂

  2. […] unputdownable book in 2010? There were a few – all of the books in The Hunger Games, Matched, and If I […]

  3. […] really really loved Matched. I thought it was creative, exciting, and fun to read. So when Crossed was released, I was eager to […]

Leave a Reply

 
