Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Christmas Music: The Great!

Posted by Caitie F on December 9, 2010

So yesterday i talked about the bad…but today I want to talk about the Christmas music that I could listen to all year! I will try to keep it at 10, but there are no promises!

1. Christmas Eve in Sarajevo/A Mad Russian’s Christmas/Old City Bar

Basically anything From “Christmas Eve and Other Stories” by TSO. It is THE Christmas album for me and puts me in the spirit. I love blasting it in the car and rocking out. I saw them live once and wow…fantastic concert!

2. Merry Christmas Darling

If this week’s Glee was your first time hearing this song, go find the version by Karen Carpenter. Lea Michele was good, but even she can’t compare. It is a beautiful song all around!

3. Jingle Bell Rock

This is just a fun song. It makes me want to sing along and dance.

4. Hallelujah Chorus

First, this is a great song. But it makes the list for a more personal reason. My high school choir sang this song at the end of the holiday concert every year, and continues to do so. If alum are in the audience, they are asked to come onstage. I have not been back at the right time since graduating, but it was a great song to sing and hearing over 100 people singing it was magical. We also sang it as part of the Candlelight Processional in Disney World, which made it even more special!

5. Joy to the World

What can I say – this song makes me happy. It is so spiriting and joyful that I can’t help but smile every time I hear it.

6. Sleigh Ride

A good version of this song is so fun to listen to. It has a great melody, fun lyrics, and if they do the clip clop and horse’s whinny, it makes it even more fun! This is one we did in my other choir and I will always think of that performance every time I hear it!

7. O Holy Night

I think artists can do such beautiful things with this song. It is a beautiful melody that builds and builds and when done right is one of the prettiest songs ever.

8. I’ll Be Home for Christmas

This has been creeping up my list for the past few years. I always want to be with my family at Christmas and I have been able to do that even though I live an eight hour drive away. I hear this song and start dreaming of when we get there and of all the great Christmas mornings we have had. It makes me so excited to see my family.

9. Carol of the Bells

This is another choir memory (not to say it isn’t a great song on its own, it is). When we went to Disney to be in the Candlelight Processional, we also got to sing on our own in teh Rotunda in the American pavilion. That place has some of the best acoustics anywhere. The song sounded magical.

10. Walking in the Air (from The Snowman)

This is not a typical holiday song, but anytime it comes on from my Kenny Loggins CD, I have to think of The Snowman cartoon! It is one of my favorite and this song fits it perfectly!

4 Responses to “Christmas Music: The Great!”

  1. Amanda said

    This is going to sound silly, but I have a special place in my heart for the Jingle Bell Rock sung by KD Lang. I blame the Pee Wee Christmas Special, which I’ve been watching at least once a year since I was 8.

    • Caitie F said

      I will have to see if I can find it when I get home – I almost put songs from The Muppet family Christmas, but it felt lame since barely anyone knows them. I watch it at least 2 or 3 times each Christmas though!

  2. Willa said

    Hi there, Just wrote a post about your great 1001 challenge! Please stop by and have a look 🙂

  3. Erin said

    I don’t know Walking in the Air! I’ll have to look it up. I am in complete agreement with all of your choices, except for Jingle Bell Rock, which drives me crazy. But the rest…yes! I especially love O Holy Night sung by any tenor/baritone with a gorgeous voice and the orchestral version of Sleigh Ride.

Leave a Reply

 
