Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Christmas Music: The Bad

Posted by Caitie F on December 8, 2010

I love Christmas music. I have over 600 holiday songs on my iPod (yes I have my fair share of Hanukkah songs too). The music just makes me happy. I wanted to talk about my favorite and least favorite holiday songs…but since I want to end on a positive note, I will do my least favorite first.

1. Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer

This song is just irritating to me. The one is annoying, the words are stupid. It is one of those songs that doesn’t feel like Christmas to me at all and I turn the radio off if it comes on!

2. I Want A Hippopotamus for Christmas

Mainly, I dislike this for the same reason as Grandma. Irritating tune and singer. I shouldn’t be annoyed while getting into the spirit!

3.  Wonderful Christmas Time

On the surface, this is a great song. I like the lyrics, I love the artist. My problem is, it gets stuck in my head every time I hear even a couple of notes of the song! I just typed the title and in my head is “Simply having a wonderful Christmas time” and it will be there ALL day. It is the “It’s a Small World” of Christmas

4. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)

I do like very very good version of the song, but as just a song, it is just okay for me. Maybe it is because the title is so…blah. Maybe it is because I have heard too many version of the song, it is just me. I know this song would be on many people’s top Christmas songs!

5. I Saw Three Ships/Go Tell it On A Mountain

For some reason, I always associate these songs with each other. Maybe i used to know a version where they were together? I have no idea why they irritate me, they just do.

6. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus

This song annoyed me even as a kid. I heard it and thought “well dad was just dressed up as Santa…duh”.

7. Baby It’s Cold Outside

Before I get attacked by anyone I actually LOVE this song. I used to listen to the Barry Manilow version several times each year, but I think I will switch to the Glee one now! If I love it, why is it on here? Well…it is creepy. What DID he put in the drink? Drugs? She starts out saying no no no and stops resisting so much. When you really listen to the lyrics, it makes you wonder what happened.

8. The 12 Days of Christmas

This song is too long for a Christmas song. And repetitive. And annoying. BUT I do like most comedic varieties of this song (favorite include the 12 Pains of Christmas, 12 Days of Phantom)

9. Something Must be Wrong With my Mistletoe

No, there is nothing wrong with your mistletoe, it is all you. You are just annoying like the song you are singing!

What are your least favorite songs? Have I dissed your favorite? Let me know in the comments and come back tomorrow for my favorites!

6 Responses to “Christmas Music: The Bad”

  1. J said

    I HATE the Paul McCartney song. Hate it. Think the man is a genius. I hate that song.

  2. AmyKB said

    I hate that “All I want for Christmas is you” song. I also don’t really care for “The Holly and the Ivy” or “O Christmas Tree” (in English or German). I’m pretty ambivalent about your dislikes, with the exception of “I Saw Three Ships” which I like.

  3. Linda said

    With the exception of #2 & #9, that’s my list of my favorite Christmas songs!

  4. Amanda said

    I would have to add any song that treats Santa as if he’s sexy to the list. 😀

  5. Erin said

    I agree with almost all of these! I do enjoy I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas, but I think part of that is seeing how excited my husband gets when it’s on — it’s one of his favorites. And I do like The Christmas Song.

    I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus is silly, I think. How does a parent explain that to a kid? Either Dad’s Santa, or Mom’s apparently having an affair. I’m pretty sure I would not like to explain that to a small child!

    Have you heard the version of Baby, It’s Cold Outside sung by one guy and a chorus of women? That one, especially, creeps me out. The only version I really like is the Ella/Louis one.

    My favorite version of The !2 Days of Christmas is definitely Straight No Chaser’s. It’s so clever! Definitely worth a listen, if you haven’t heard it.

    Whew! And from my own list, I must add that Last Christmas song. I have to change the radio station when that comes on, even if I have to listen to non-Christmas for a song!

    (I really had fun with this post, if you can’t tell!)

Leave a Reply

 
