Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Holiday Review: A Return to Christmas

Posted by Caitie F on December 2, 2010

One day later and I am more in the spirit of the holidays. My wonderful husband read my post when we got home last night and gave me a Chanukah present to make me feel better – a holiday Mickey Mouse. It really did help because as down as I am about everything else, I have someone by my side always.

After that, I decided I would read all of the holiday books I had from my parents. Every Christmas Eve, we get a book. It used to be Christmas books, but now it has turned into any book. Thanks to that, I have 6 or 7 Christmas books (I never got rid of any of them). I am going to read and review the books. Most are probably cheesy, but it will be fun (and the reviews will be short).

Title: A Return to Christmas 
Author: Chris Heimerdinger
Publisher: Ivy Books (Random House)
Paperback: 215 pages
ISBN: 0804118264
Rating: +++
Received in: 1999, I was 12

Summary (from back cover):

Until he was three years old, Artemus Holiday and his twin brother, Andrew, had shared the adventures of life together. But when young Artemus lost his brother in a terrible tragedy on Christmas Day, the miracle of the Christmas season seemed forever shrouded by a cloud of sadness and despair.

But miracles have been known to happen during this time of year.

This heartwarming Christmas story follows the lives of two eleven-year-old heroes – the weary and cynical Artemus and an outcast named Chess, a homeless con artist with a heart of gold. Through a simple twist of fate, these boys will find themselves swept into the adventure of a lifetime – one that takes them beyond their wildest imaginings…

Review:

This is a cute story of a family that has lost Christmas when they lost their son Andrew, and how they get the spirit back because of a stranger. It is a twist on a the Prince and the Pauper story.

The problem is, like many holiday stories, this is completely predictable. Even when I was 12, I saw the big twist at the end the moment the two boys met.  The writing is only okay, but it is good for what it is

I think kids from 10-13 who like holiday books would like it, or it could even be good to read to kids 8-10. Adults would like it if they enjoy a quick holiday read. It has great messages of family and love during the holidays.

Have you read this one? Did you like it more than I did? Let me know in the comments!

 

2 Responses to “Holiday Review: A Return to Christmas”

  1. Aw, your husband sounds like a sweetie! I haven’t read that book, but I don’t mind predictable this time of year.

  2. Nymeth said

    Aw, that’s lovely of your husband! And the book sounds sweet, even if predictable. Like Kathy said above, I don’t mind that much in Christmas stories. I must get started with some holiday reading myself…

Leave a Reply

 
