Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Stay With Me by Garret Freymann-Weyr

Posted by Caitie F on November 6, 2010

Title: Stay With Me
Author: Garret Freymann-Weyr
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Paperback: 308 pages
ISBN: 9780618605712
Rating:  ++++

Summary (from me):

When Leila’s half-sister commits suicide, she is determined to find out why. She was close to her and is convinced she should have seen the signs. Her search leads her to a new job, a romance, and finding more about herself and what she wants to do with her life to make her happy/

Review:

Have you ever closed a book and just smiled because you were really happy that you read it? That is what this book was like for me. I thought it was a great coming of age story with a character that was very likeable. I though Lelia was great, she was a very caring young women who wanted to please others, but also looked out for herself. She worked hard at everything she did and was one of those YA characters that I could see myself being friend with.

I loved her relationship with Eamon. Yes, he was significantly older, but he waited until she was 17, insisted that he met her guardians, and made sure that he took things slowly so she knew he was not just after one thing. While her ex-boyfriend thought Lelia was stupid, she really was very mature for her age. I saw a lot of reviews saying the relationship was “icky” or “pedophile”. For one, she is 17. That is the age of consent and pedophilia is being attracted to undeveloped bodies, not 17 year olds. And it was not portrayed as being “icky” at all. He really cared about her and the author portrayed it that way.

It was by no means a perfect book, after the 15th mention of her dyslexia I wanted to yell out that I got it already and while the writing was mostly very good, there were awkwardly worded passages that could have been better.

Have you read any books lately that just make you happy? Let me know in the comments!

Are you interested in reading it? Go to the giveaway post

4 Responses to “Stay With Me by Garret Freymann-Weyr”

  1. I have read books that made me happy – I usually hate it when they end. This one sounds really good!

  2. Amanda said

    I really enjoy Garret Freymann Weyr’s writing. I’ve read two of her past books and I’m glad to hear this one is good. I’ll be entering the giveaway for sure!

  3. […] vs Unicorns Editied by Justine Larbalestier andHolly Black 60. The Maze Runner by James Dashner 61. Stay With Me by Garrett Freymann-Weyr 62. Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life by Wendy Mass 63. Perfect by […]

  4. […] Unicorns Editied by Justine Larbalestier and Holly Black 60. The Maze Runner by James Dashner 61. Stay With Me by Garrett Freymann-Weyr 62. Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life by Wendy Mass 63. Perfect by […]

Leave a Reply

 
