Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

Posted by Caitie F on October 18, 2010

Title: Prophecy of the Sisters
Author:  Michelle Zink
Hardcover:  343 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown for Young Readers (Hachette Book Group)
ISBN: 9780316027427
Rating: ++++

Summary (from me):

Lia and Alice are twins, just as their mother who died several years ago and her sister were twins. In fact, their grandmother was a twin also. It is all just genetics right?

In a way, yes, but because they are part of an ancient prophecy that gives evil souls and even Satan himself a chance to come to and plague all of humanity. One sister is the Guardian, sent to help keep the planet safe from the Souls. The other is the Gate, the only way the Souls can take over, or be shut away forever.

After their father’s death, Lia and Alice are drifting further and further apart. Alice has the personality of the Gate, but because of a C-Section, it is up to Lia who may be the one to finally shut the gate to the Other Worlds forever. Unfortunately, Alice has been trained by the Souls her whole life and Lia is just learning about her powers and is at a huge disadvantage.

It is up to her to find the four keys before her sister can do anything unimaginable.

Review:

I won this book a while ago and finally got around to reading it. It took me a few chapters to really get into it because it started out slow, but once it picked up, it really picked up! It reminded me of the Gemma Doyle series a little with the Other Worlds and the group of friends . . . which is good because I loved that series! It also takes place is the past and has a classic charm in the style.

I thought to story of the prophecy was unique. I told my husband about it and he claimed it is a lot like Season 5 of Buffy,. But I am only on Season 2, so I will not judge. I love any story that is trying to overcome a curse/magic/things foretold, so I knew I would be interested in the plot. I also expected something to happened with the boy Lia is involved with, but it did not, so it is not a predictable book (always a plus!).

I thought the two main characters were fantastic. Lia is smart, shy, and caring. She will do whatever she can to make things right, even if it isn’t easy/ She has so much love for others that it is very hard to disliked her. And Alice is great in her own way. She scared me. A lot. I am pretty sure I had a dream with her in it last night and it was not pleasant. She is a perfect villain and antithesis of her sister. The other characters were pretty well-developed. I can’t wait to read more about all of them!

There were two things I didn’t like. The first was the cover. As you can see it has a picture of two young girls. This book isn’t about young girls. Lia and her sister are sixteen years old. I think it is an issue because I saw it and expected something different from what was there. It made me a little reluctant to read it because of the cover.

What bugged me more though was that it was not a complete story. I know it is a series, but each book should end and be its own, full story and not just people leaving for the next leg of the journey. Harry Potter did that very well. As much as I dislike Twilight, that series did also. This book did not.

That said, I still really look forward to the next book! If you haven’t had the chance to read this yet, go check it out!

6 Responses to “Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink”

  1. Amanda said

    I’ve gone back and forth on this book. Part of me wants to read it and part of me worries I won’t like it…

  2. I’ve really been drawn to that cover – I guess I thought it was about young girls, too. Well, at my age, I consider 16 to be young! LOL It does seem like the book would have some kind of conclusion even though it’s part of a series.

  3. […] Posts TSS: A Controversial PostProphecy of the Sisters by Michelle ZinkShiver by Maggie StiefvaterPrizesBooks Reviewed by Title « ghostgirl winner! Breaks, […]

  4. […] by Natalie Standiford 51. I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak 52. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater 53. Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink 54. Losing Faith by Denise Jaden 55. The Duff by Kody Keplinger 56. low red moon […]

  5. […] adored the first book in this series, Prophecy of the Sisters. It took me a while to get to this one, but it was also really enjoyable, just VERY different. But […]

Leave a Reply

 
