Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters by Natalie Standiford

Posted by Caitie F on October 7, 2010

TItle: Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters
Author: Natalie Standiford
Hardcover: 313 pages
Publisher: Scholastic
ISBN: 9780545107105
Rating:  ++++

Summary:

The Sullivan family has made their matriarch (also known as Almighty) angry and she gives them all an unexpected Christmas surprise – they are all being cut out of the will unless the right one confesses to what has upset her.

The family knows right away that it must be one of the three teenage girls, so they spend the next week writing their confessions. Will it be enough for the manipulative Almighty? They all hope so.

Review:

I really wanted to love this book since I thought the premise was so great. An incredibly family is being cut off completely because of something that one of them has done, but they don’t know who. They only have a week to write their confessions and if Almighty isn’t satisfied, the family will lose their entire inheritance. How controlling and manipulative! The second I read a review of the book I knew I had to read it. I was not disappointed at all!

I love the three sisters. They are three very different people even though they have been raised in the same household and are very close in age. I thought they were all realistic, interesting young women. All three stories were amusing, telling, and showed that not all rich people are snobby.

If I had to pick a favorite, it would be Jane’s with her “evil family” blog. How people got their money is not always by the noblest means, and I liked that she wanted to show that to everyone. The girls all showed that Almighty was not a pleasant person, but when Jane goes for it, she really goes for it! If I were to be friends with one of them though, it would be Norrie. Jane would be a little intense for me in real life!

The book had everything for a good young adult book. It had romance, and I loved Robbie, even though I wanted to punch and/or yell at his friends several times. It had drama, mostly caused by Jane. It had issues that teens have to deal with all the time, especially when Sassy has to deal with mortality.

I did feel like Sassy’s story could have been a lot better and was disappointed in a lot of it. There could have been so much more with the girl she was tutoring and her sense of needing to give back since she has been so lucky. Her whole “indestructible” thing was really annoying too. There was something really wrong with her and it was never truly addressed. I just thought her story felt rushed and incomplete, while the other two were much, much stronger.

I loved the way it ended and how the girls saw they were more like their grandmother than they thought. I also loved the realizations about their parents throughout. They reached the age when they realized their parents were people and I liked the connection they made with it.

Overall, it was a really good book and I look forward to reading more by Natalie Standiford.

Who was your favorite sister? Let me know in the comments!

 

4 Responses to “Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters by Natalie Standiford”

  1. […] Erin McCahan 48. The Dark Divine by Bree Despain 49. Friend is Not a Verb by Daniel Ehrenhaft 50. Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters by Natalie Standiford 51. I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak 52. 53. 54. 55. 56. 57. 58. 59. 60. 61. […]

  2. This is in my TBR pile and you’ve made me excited about it!!

  3. Linda said

    I’ve seen this one around the blogsphere. It sounds great!

  4. […] McCahan 48. The Dark Divine by Bree Despain 49. Friend is Not a Verb by Daniel Ehrenhaft 50. Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters by Natalie Standiford 51. I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak 52. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater […]

Leave a Reply

 
