Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Dark Divine by Bree Despain

Posted by Caitie F on October 6, 2010

Title: The Dark Divine
Author: Bree Despain
Hardcover: 372 pages
Publisher: Egmont USA
ISBN: 9731606840573
Rating: ++

Summary (from goodreads):

Grace Divine—daughter of the local pastor—always knew something terrible happened the night Daniel Kalbi disappeared and her brother Jude came home covered in his own blood.

Now that Daniel’s returned, Grace must choose between her growing attraction to him and her loyalty to her brother.

As Grace gets closer to Daniel, she learns the truth about that mysterious night and how to save the ones she loves, but it might cost her the one thing she cherishes most: her soul.

Review:
I don’t like werewolves. Paranormal creature books in general don’t do it for me. I thought I would give this a try since I have heard such great things about it. . . but it didn’t live up to all of the hype.

I had a few issues with it.

Characters

The characters felt so stereotypical. Grace, the pastors daughter who tries to help others but finds herself struggling with what she should do. Her perfect brother, who it turns out isn’t so perfect and has more hatred in him. The boy who everyone thought was bad, but turns out to be a good guy trying to help. The father who is a pastor and sees the best in everyone, even if no one else thinks they deserve it. The mother who just wants the pastor’s family to be perfect to an extent where she doesn’t know her children at all.

The side characters were pretty flat too. Her friend April didn’t seem like a friend at all, the second she started dating ___, she completely ditched Grace, which was shitty, but at least she was doing something. There was nothing interesting about her at all! Then there was Pete, the big man on campus who thought that he could get whatever he wanted from whoever he wanted it. Nothing new with him either.

Predictable Story

I knew who and what the monster was right away. I was not surprised when Pete ended up being a jerk. Even the end didn’t surprise me. It followed so many other books like it that it didn’t feel like anything I hadn’t read before, which was disappointing.

The Mythology

I thought I would really like where this was going – the wolves were originally creatures gifted by God to help protect the world, but the devil tricked them. It just…wasn’t enough of the story to make it interesting. Then it just became “the wolf part of him takes over when he is angry or aggressive”. Again, this is nothing new and I was disappointed.

I know a lot of people loved this book and this series so… what did I miss? Why did you like it so much? Let me know in the comments, I genuinely want to know!

5 Responses to “The Dark Divine by Bree Despain”

  1. amymckie said

    I am SOOOOO happy to see someone else that wasn’t a fan of this. Everyone seems to only be gushing. I had it in audiobook format and just had to ditch it after 2.5 hours. The characters were way too flat and predictable. Plus the whole Grace is perfect and beautiful and brilliant and is always nice and does so many good things… but only has April as a friend because no one else wants to be friends with her / they are only trying to get at her brother. Really? Mmmhmmm. Likely story. And her brother who is just soooooooo perfect at everything, and hangs out with her every day, and blah blah. Yawn.

    • Caitie F said

      I know! Grace was so boring and predictable! The only person in the entire book that interested me was her dad because he was an example of what churches should e like! Glad thet someone agreed with me! And what you said about Grace is so true. If she is so nice and perfect, why doesn’t she have more friends and why does her only friend ditch her for her brother? I am sure from other peoples perspective she is kind of a bitch who judges every one else…which is kind of what I thought of her at times!

  2. Sorry to see this one’s a stinker.

  3. […] Posts The Dark Divine by Bree DespainThe Lacemaker and the Princess by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley PrizesFright Fest: Wicked Lovely by […]

  4. […] 46. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting 47. I Now Pronounce You Someone Else by Erin McCahan 48. The Dark Divine by Bree Despain 49. Friend is Not a Verb by Daniel Ehrenhaft 50. Confessions of the Sullivan […]

Leave a Reply

 
