Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Some Books I Didn’t Love

Posted by Caitie F on September 22, 2010

There are a few books i have rad recently and don’t want to give a full review, summary ect, but I would still like to mention them.

Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

I didn’t love this like most people seem to. It was an okay book. Really, the perfect example of a three star book. I like the writing and I thought the beginning was fantastic. . . but after that I did not care as much.

I didn’t really like Frankie through most of it. I could tell she was overcompensating and I found her annoying. She was very selfish, pushing Anna to do things she didn’t want to – from wearing clothes that made her uncomfortable to sneaking out to the makeup. That was not me at all and I had friends that pushed it…there is a reason we stopped being friends!  I think she crossed a line with the unforgivable thing she did. I don’t think anyone would forgive as quickly as Anna did in real life though.

I did like Anna’s with moving on after Matt — I thought it was very realistic and genuine. She was still in love with him and felt wrong to move on, but couldn’t hold onto him forever because that wouldn’t be healthy.  I also like how they showed the family reacting to the death – it felt authentic.

Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala

Bloggers have been raving abotu this book, so I was really excited to read it and rave along with them. Well, I can’t do it. I thought the book was cliche and nothing new for almost the entire book. Until the last 50 pages I was going to give it a 1 on Goodreads. Luckily, the ending made up for that and made it something different and interesting.

I should have known better. I tend to dislike teenage pregnancy books because they don’t feel new anymore. Girls gets pregnant, religious parent is angry, other parent stands up for them once. Oh and the guy is usually not in the picture and there are some bitchy friends. Nothing new. Nothing exciting. The end of this book makes it decent, as does the story of her sister, but it wasn’t as good as I expected.

Naomi and Eli’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn

This book was bad because Naomi was annoying, shallow, and delusional. Eli was not much better, he just wasn’t delusional, just a jerk, mean, and a moron. He knew how Naomi really felt and wouldn’t just tell her to stop. She didn’t get that he was actually gay…even though he was obviously actually gay and not into women at all.

I was disappointed in this book so much because I really wanted to like it.

I have a few more of these to do, but i will post about those books this weekend!

4 Responses to “Some Books I Didn’t Love”

  1. […] Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by David Levithan and Rachel […]

  2. Sorry they were stinkers for you.

  3. Amanda said

    I haven’t read the middle one, but that’s exactly how I felt on those other two. Twenty Boy Summer started out so fantastic and then just fell apart! Then I really didn’t like Naomi & Ely, which is sad because I’ve loved every other Levithan book I’ve ever read, and I adored Nick & Norah.

  4. […] Sarah Dessen 31. Bliss by Lauren Myracle 32. Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle 33. Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn 34. How They Met and Other Stories by David Levithan 35. The Key […]

Leave a Reply

 
