Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

  • Subscribe

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,523 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 105 other followers

  • Top Posts

Ash by Malinda Lo – A review and giveaway!

Posted by Caitie F on September 20, 2010

Title: Ash

Author: Malinda Lo

Publisher: Little, Brown, and Company

Hardcover: 264 pages

ISBN: 0316040096

Rating: ++++

Summary (from inside flap):

In the wake of her father’s death, Ask is left at the mercy of her cruel stepmother. Consumed with grief, her only joy comes by the light of the dying hearth fire, rereading the fairy tales her mother once told her. In her dreams, someday the fairies will steal her away, as they are said to do. When she meets the dark and dangerous Sidhean, she believes that her wish may be granted.

The day that Ash meets Kaisa, the King’s Huntress, her heart begins to change. Instead of chasing fairies, Ash learns how to hunt. Though their friendship is as delicate as a new bloom, it reawakens Ash’s capacity for love — and her desire to live. But Sidhean has already claimed Ash for his own, and she must make a choice between fairy tale dreams and true love.

Review:

I liked this book much more than I expected. I am usually not a fan of retellings, and Cinderella has never been one of my favorite stories. Cinderella seems to just deal with everything that happens to her and gets a fairy godmother. It never interested me.

But Ash makes her own story. She finds ways to live her dreams, whether it is walking through the woods with the fairy of her dreams or riding and learning to hunt with Kaisa. She takes the punishments, but still finds her own way out. Sidhean may have helped her get to the ball, but she goes as herself to get what she wants.

I thought the writing in this was fantastic. I love the fairy tales and the setting, the characters were also very vivid and strong. I really liked that while one stepsister was a snob, the other was actually kind and strong. It was a good twist.

I cannot wait to see what Malindawrites next!

12 Responses to “Ash by Malinda Lo – A review and giveaway!”

  1. […] Ash by Mainda […]

  2. I generally don’t like retellings either, but since you liked this one, I’d like to give it a try! I subscribe in Google Reader.

  3. I loved this one! Lo’s writing is fabulous. Fairy tales un-Disneyfied are amazing and then adding a bit of a twist just makes it that much better. Feel free to enter me (I’m a follower of your blog) in the giveaway. I would love to own a copy of this one and/or to pass it on to one of my teenage friends.

  4. Amanda said

    Jason and I read this together back in March. Ironically, he thought he’d love it because he loves fairy tale retellings, and I didn’t think I’d like it because I really don’t. We ended up exactly opposite – he didn’t like it at all, and I did! How strange. 🙂

  5. I’ve been wanting to read this 🙂

  6. I’d love to enter, thank you!!

    I tweeted here:

    this book has been on my to read list for awhile!

  7. I really want to read this one. I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

  8. Am I too late? If not please enter me. Thanks!
    +2 I follow your RSS feed.

  9. Shawna Lewis said

    Shawna Lewis

    I tweeted http://twitter.com/theblindcupid/status/25838103466
    I follow you on Google reader & I subscribe.

  10. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Shawna Lewis, Carrie. Carrie said: Win Ash by Malinda Lo https://caitieflum.wordpress.com/2010/09/20/ash-by-malinda-lo-a-review-and-giveaway/ […]

  11. […] Met and Other Stories by David Levithan 35. The Key to the Golden Firebird by Maureen Johnson 36. Ash by Mainda Lo 37. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson 38. Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler 39. Tell Me […]

  12. […] in YA kick so much ass. I got to see some of the authors of my favorite books (Malinda Lo who wrote Ash  and Michelle Zink who wrote The Prophesy of the […]

Leave a Reply

 
