Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

BBAW: Future Treasures

Posted by Caitie F on September 17, 2010

Today is the last day of BBAW. How sad :-(!

Here is today’s theme:

We want to hear all about your FUTURE treasures. We’ve been visiting each other and getting to know each other better…now is your chance to share what you enjoyed about BBAW and also what your blogging goals are for the next year!

My favorite thing about this week is following new to me bloggers. I added over 150 new book blogs to my feeds. Now I know I won’t keep all of them there, but every single one will be read for at least a month. I also had a TON of books added to my TBR pile, which I find very exciting!

I loved posted on the prompts and am super excited about my giveaway! I am only a couple people away from 20 entries, which means hopefully at least two people will win a book! I also plan to read all of the books people are recommending in their entries (which I plan on sharing with everyone when I announce the winners).

Onto Goals for the next year!

Connect with community more – I have great relationships with some book bloggers, so I would like to keep that up and get to know more people. Everyone I have met through blogging has been wonderful, and there is always more room in my life for wonderful people. This also means commenting on more blogs. There are a lot of times where I have something to say, but I get nervous or just lazy and don’t comment and I am going to try to stop that

Read a wider variety of books – I love YA, it is my passion and what I would love to work with when I finally get a job in the industry. That said, I need to be more well-read in a lot of other types of books. I want to try some romance, read more mysteries, and give more books a chance. It also means that if I join a YA challenge, I won’t sign up for the highest amount.

Fix up my site – this I will need help with. I want to add in more html and make this site more me. This includes having some kind of graphic for my ratings and putting more of my personality into the site.  I have no idea where to start, so I will probably be posting in a few weeks asking for help.

Write more about publishing – Right now I am reading queries and partials for authors and I would like to use this as a jumping off point for talking more about the publishing industry and what rends I am seeing. I want to get back to work there and I think this will help me out when I am thinking about my cover letters and interviews.

Join a couple more challenges – I know, most people are saying they should get OUT of challenges, but I want to join a few more to make myself read a wider variety (and still read other things for fun). I can read incredibly fast, so I should use that to my advantage. I knwo Iw ant to join the Agatha Christie challenge and the GLBT challenge too.

Start my own challenge – I have both the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die and the 1001 Children’s Books You Must Read Before You GRow Up and have wanted to find a way to do a challenge with these books. I am still figuring things out with it though. Do I want it to be something like “try to read 5, 10, or 20 in a year? Do I want it to be a multi year challenge with the goal to have read 100 from the list? If you may be interested in these challenges, let me know what you would prefer.

What are your goals for your blog? If you don’t have a blog, what are your reading goals? Let me know in the comments!

6 Responses to “BBAW: Future Treasures”

  1. Amanda said

    Great goals! My friend Karen reads a lot from that 1001 Books list and she’d probably join you on a challenge like that!

  2. May you keep reading wonderful books and blog about those for us!

    Here is my BBAW: Forgotten Treasures post!

  3. Jessica said

    I like the idea of the 1001 books, theres so many on there that ppl are bound to find something they want to read from it

  4. Carin B. said

    I want to try a GLBT Challenge too. I’ve never really read any GLBT literature so it would be a good thing to try out! I like that you are all about broadening your horizons. I feel like since I started blogging I’ve become much more open to different kinds of books. It’s really opened my eyes and made me less book snobbish.

  5. Good luck with all of your goals!

  6. Keep on reading and blogging.

Leave a Reply

 
