Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

BBAW: Forgotten Treasures

Posted by Caitie F on September 16, 2010

This has been so fun and I am disappointed that we only have one day left!

Today’s Topic: Forgotten Treasure – Sure we’ve all read about Freedom and Mockingjay but we likely have a book we wish would get more attention by book bloggers, whether it’s a forgotten classic or under marketed contemporary fiction. This is your chance to tell the community why they should consider reading this book!

I had no idea what to do for this! I have been trying to figure it out all week. I thought of my favorite book of all time, To Kill A Mockingbird, but it has gotten a lot of attention lately. I thought of one of my favorite authors, John Green, but bloggers seem to be discovering him more lately. Thankfully, I read a book the last couple days that I have not seen very much, so I can do a review and encourage everyone to try it!

Title: Bliss

Author: Lauren Myracle

Publisher: Amulet Books (2008)

Hardcover: 444 pages

ISBN: 0810970717

Rating: +++++

Summary:

When Bliss In the Morning Dew is sent to her grandmother in Atlanta after living in a commune with her parents she had no idea how different the South was from her tolerate, open way of life. She really wasn’t planning on having to try to figure out how to keep an evil dead girl from raising her cult again either.

Review:

This is not typical Lauren Myracle. I have read, and enjoyed, some of her other books. This is nothing like her other books. If you are looking for light and fluffy, go read Peace, Love and Baby Ducks If you are looking for paranormal, creepy, and cults, then Bliss is perfect for you!

This book throws readers back into 1969-1970 in Atlanta. The Manson murders are what most people are talking about and Mryacle does an excellent job of paralleling her story with Manson and his cult. She also puts in typical YA elements that help the story seem a little more real. Bliss meets a cute boy, deals with trying to make friends at a prestigious private school, and has to deal with all of the racism in her school and area. By mixing in the paranormal elements with such a real society, it makes it a little scarier.

The racism in this book makes me sad, mostly because I know it was how it really was (and how it still is in some parts of the country). The most popular girl in school is in love with the only black student. And her father is a member of the Klan. Instant tension and drama. it also is a great way to show how good of a friend Bliss is and how things did eventually change.

I won’t give away the ending, but don’t expect everything to be wrapped up in a bow. I loved this about the book. So many books just have a happy ending where everything ends up okay, so you don’t feel like you really need to worry. Yeah, not in this book. That nervous feeling you have while reading? You should have it.

Before reading this book, I thought Myracle was a good YA author, but not one that I would go out of my way to read. After reading this, I look forward to reading more books from her that are a little more paranormal than what she usually writes.

Have you had an author surprise you by writing in a new genre or style? Let me know in the comments!

9 Responses to “BBAW: Forgotten Treasures”

  1. This sounds like a book I would like! I didn’t live around Atlanta at the time, but I have the last 11 years. I love books set in the South, especially when the place is familiar to me.

  2. Meg said

    I have a little experience from Myracle and have always found her books to be light reads, so it surprises me that there’s something this heavy by her! I’m definitely intrigued, though, and had never heard of Bliss. The young adult elements in an otherwise serious-sounding book intrigue me. Thanks for the recommendation!

    • Caitie F said

      That is what I always thought of her before too. This was very different. I hope you give it a shot, I would love to read what you think!

  3. Marieke said

    This sounds intense… but I’d love to read!

  4. S. Krishna said

    WOw, this sounds like a great book – thanks for the recommendation!

  5. MelissaW said

    There was a preview for Bliss in the back of each of the Internet Girls books I just finished by Myracle – same excerpt in all three books. It looked interesting, thanks for your thoughts 🙂

  6. […] Posts BBAW Giveaway! BBAW: Future TreasuresPrizesBBAW: Forgotten TreasuresAbout Me « ghostgirl winner! Breaks, Books, Query letters, and Thanksgiving […]

  7. […] Johnson 29. Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan 30. Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen 31. Bliss by Lauren Myracle 32. Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle 33. Naomi and Ely’s No […]

  8. […] 7. Bliss by Lauren Myracle […]

Leave a Reply

 
