Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

BBAW: Unexpected Treasure

Posted by Caitie F on September 15, 2010

Today the post is “Today we invite you to share with us a book or genre you tried due to the influence of another blogger.  What made you cave in to try something new and what was the experience like?”

Well I cannot think of just one, that is too hard, so I will talk in general.

There are so many books that I read that I would never have picked up if it wasn’t for other bloggers. Take that series that I love, The Hunger Games. I head buzz about it for so long, but it wasn’t until I started seeing spoiler free reviews on book blogs that said it was a must read that I finally picked it up.

I was also wary of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo until I read a few reviews of it that made it sound like something I might like.

As for genres, bloggers have made me much more interested in paranormal YA. I shy away from vampires, but thanks to bloggers I can find good non-vampire paranormal and paranormal romance.

I have a google docs with books I want to read thanks to other blogs and it keeps growing. Thanks to all of the other book bloggers who keep introducing me to amazing books!

Come back later – I am posting a contest tonight for any of the books on my Prize Page and I am adding four or five more books to it later (including two Maureen Johnson books). It should be a great contest with more than one chance to win!

4 Responses to “BBAW: Unexpected Treasure”

  1. Amanda said

    I couldn’t limit the topic to specific books! Too many of them have come from bloggers. I had to work things a little different…

  2. Caitie F said

    That is one of my favorite things about the blogs though, at least half of what I read comes from bloggers!

  3. I always equated paranormal to vampires and zombies too, but have recently read So Cold the River which has paranormal elements in it and I loved it!

  4. Carol said

    I loved Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I think I’m the only person skipping the Hunger Games series, though.

Leave a Reply

 
