Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Harry Potter Books vs Movies

Posted by Caitie F on August 13, 2010

So usually, the book is at least 10 times better than the movie. The only times that I enjoyed the movie more is if I really didn’t like the book. However, I usually give the movie credit and appreciate it for what it is.

With Harry Potter, that was a different story. When I read the first book, I thought about how it would make a really cool movie, and I thought that about all of the books. The first two movies disappointed me. I thought some of the casting was off (other than Harris as Dumbledore, he was exactly what I pictured!) and I thought they cut some story lines that I really like and emphasized some things that I thought were not as important. But they were decent movies.

I went to see Prisoner of Azkaban with a couple friends who had never read the books – and this was my favorite of the Harry Potter books at that point. I probably had read it over twenty times.. I ended up walking out of the movie and waiting for them outside. I hated that they were wearing Muggle clothes. I hated that they took out the Firebolt story. I hated the acting choices and I hated the new Dumbledore – he was nothing like the Dumbledore I loved in the books (and only got worse with the rest of the books).

I didn’t see the fourth movie in theaters because I was so disappointed. I saw it later and thought it was ok. The fifth and sixth movies were big improvements. I think David Yates really got the look and feel of the movies right. I also think the acting got a lot better – they were not just kids anymore, they were good actors who brought the books alive with their characters. The minor characters were excellent. The movies were not perfect by any means, but they were better than I expected.

I really hope that the last two movies don’t disappoint. There are certain moments that I am really looking forward to seeing in the movies and I think they will do those moments justice.

Do you like the Harry Potter movies? Were you really disappointed with a movie version of one of your favorite books? Let me know in the comments!

7 Responses to “Harry Potter Books vs Movies”

  1. I enjoyed the books more, but I was able to enjoy the movies too because it’s been so long since I read the books and the details are blurry in my mind.

  2. Amanda said

    The first one I saw in theatres was the fourth, and while I liked it the first time (excitement of seeing it on the screen with a large group of people and all) I later came to really dislike some parts of it. But the third movie was by far the worst. There are parts of that movie I can’t watch without fast forwarding, they’re so embarrassingly bad. What really made me mad was the way they treated the Grim storyline. Harry sees a grim in the clouds instead of a silhouette in the stands? Really? Ugh. There was a lot about that movie that made me mad.

    Fifth and sixth movies have gotten much, much better. I understand that the movies can’t deal with every part of the whole books – the books are just so huge! But those movies I think really boiled down to the essentials without feeling like a series of action sequences (like the 4th movie did).

    • Caitie F said

      I agree with you on the fourth – it just felt like a series of action sequences, which is too bad because that is exactly what Harry Potter isn’t!

      I really give David Yates a lot of credit, which is why I have hope for the last two

  3. Julie said

    I didn’t like the 6th movie at all. They left out so much of the original story that, if I hadn’t read the book I probably wouldn’t have figured out the whole thing.

    I’ve read Deathly Hallows more often than any of the other books, and hope that the movies will at least do it justice. I’m not asking for perfection, but I do hope they’re good.

  4. Maddie said

    I’ve seen the movies since i was little and grew up with Daniel Radcliffe/Rupert Grint/Emma Watson as Harry, Ron, and Hermoine. But i recently read the books and a lot of the story came together. It mad me mad how in the third movie they completely left out the significance of the Womping Willow and its connection with the Mauruder’s map. The movies always confused me and i never really understood what was going on. One of my friends had to explain everything to me, then she finally just told me to read the book. When i did, everything became clear. Everything makes sense and i feel like the world is much better because i know Harry Potter. Haha. Its much more personal in the books and you see the storyline through Harry’s head, not just through his eye. In the fifth with Cho Chang i was really confused when i saw the movie, then i was angry because they left off Cho’s friend and blamed everything on her and MISSED THE CURSE HERMOINE DID AND CHO’S JEALOUSY OF HERMOINE.

    I’m sorry this is kind of long but i have some serious Pottermania. I love the fact that you actually left the movie because you thought it was so dumb. That sounds like something i would do. In the very end of the last book there are a few key parts that i do not want left out. “Not my daughter YOU BITCH” would definitely be one of them and another would be “You actually ARE joking Perce… I don’t think i’ve heard you joke since you were…” and last but not least “IF WE DIE FOR THEM HARRY I’LL KILL YOU.”
    Thank you and goodnight.

    • Caitie F said

      You bring up a lot of great points! I hope those are all in the last movie, as well as when Harry asks if it will hurt. It was just such a touching moment. Glad you loved the books!

  5. Johnny said

    they made the first two movies close enough to the book and deathly hallows was awesome but every movie from prisoner of azkaban to half blood prince lopped around not making a good point like in prisoner of Azkaban instead of sirius telling Harry about his dad and peter he just gets them out of the room and they missed the part where they knock snape unconcious(my favorite)

Leave a Reply

 
