Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Conferences

Posted by Caitie F on August 11, 2010

Conferences are not something unique to Harry Potter. Comic Con has been going on forever. A few friends of mine just got back from Gen Con (a game conference). While they are not the only conferences there are, I really think they are something special.

I went to one conference, Terminus, in August of 2008. It took place in Chicago and it was one of the best experiences I have ever had. There were meals, discussion groups, concerts (both planned an impromptu), a dance, and so much more. I loved seeing the papers presented and discussed.

I never thought about how much Harry Potter had my thinking about different issues. My favorite discussion was about education in Harry Potter and the benefits and drawbacks to the system. We talked about how the sorting is good for classrooms because the students tend to have similar learning styles if they are in the same house, but also that students who learned differently from there peers are even more disadvantaged because they are one of the only students learning in a different way. We also like that students have the same teachers for subjects every year and that in most cases it made for better education because the teachers knew them (but on the opposite side, they got stuck with Professor Binns every year). It was a fascinating discussion that had me thinking for days!

The one thing I loved the most though, was the people. If I was walking someone alone and someone saw my badge, they would run over and say hello and ask if I wanted to join their group. It was great. especially since I went only having talked to a few people online before the conference. We stayed up late in rooms that were having acoustic shows and really got to know each other very quickly. I met people from all over the world – a few girls from Australia, some of the nicest people from England, and two people I had been talking to online for a while, one from Germany and one from Ireland. I also met some amazing people from the US who I have seen since.

The conference that is coming up that I am most excited about is LeakyCon 2011. LeakyCon is a conference that is for charity and hosted by the Harry Potter fansite, The Leaky Cauldron. They will be doing an event at The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, having concerts, doing panels, and have a YA Lit Day, where they will be bringing in YA authors and agents for an all day event. It looks like a great time. I am going to try to make it (we will see how finances look later in the year) and hope that some of my friends will too.

Even if you don’t love Harry Potter, I would really recommend going to a conference of some kind. Find something you love, there is probably a conference for it somewhere (or it is combined with other interests in another conference). They really are a great experience!

Leave a Reply

 
