Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

Posted by Caitie F on July 15, 2010

Title: Odd Thomas

Author: Dean Koontz

Publisher: Bantam (Random House)

Paperback: 400 pages

ISBN: 978-0553384284

Rating: +++++

Summary (from Bookrag.com):

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz is the story of a young man, who, through circumstances out of his control, finds himself in a position to save the lives of hundreds of his friends and neighbors. Odd Thomas is a fry cook who can see dead people and shadow-like forms he calls bodachs. When Odd sees these bodachs around a stranger, he knows that trouble is coming to his hometown of Pico Mundo, California. Odd feels a sense of responsibility to stop whatever tragic events are about to unfold, so he puts aside personal concerns in order to uncover the coming darkness and stop it. Odd puts himself in danger to save the innocent. Odd never wanted to be a hero, especially not at the high price he is forced to pay

Review:

I am a big fan of Dean Koontz. I have read five or six of his books and want to read even more. I had a friend tell me that the Odd books are her favorite, so I had to make sure I checked the first one out!

I have to say, I really liked it and it may be my favorite Koontz book. I got really attached to the characters right away, especially Odd and Stormy. I liked the eclectic small town and all of its characters. I also loved how Odd had to struggle with the fact that he can’t save everyone with his gift…but he still tries to save as many people as he possibly can.

The book had a good mix of fantasy, suspense, and mystery. If you like any of those elements, you should give the book a chance.

It is hard to talk about much in the plot without giving away anything, so I will just say that the ending completely shocked me…and I am really impressed Koontz went that direction, especially since it is a series. I really look forward to reading the next book.

Have you read Odd Thomas (and any of the other Odd books?) If so, let me know what you thought about them in the comments!

5 Responses to “Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz”

  1. I haven’t read any of Koontz’s work for a while. I enjoy some of it, but some’s way to creepy for me.

  2. […] Posts Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz « In My Mailbox (well…more like in my holiday gifts) The Looking Glass Wars […]

  3. […] 1. Admission by Jean Hanff Korelitz 2. No Way To Treat a First Lady by Christopher Buckley 3. Firmin by Sam Savage 4. If I Stay by Gayle Forman 5. Naked by David Sedaris 6. Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz […]

  4. I have read all the Odd Thomas books and the first one is the best, I guess its kinda the same as any sequel they are never as good as the fist but I am glad Odd Thomas was a series as I enjoyed reading each one.

    http://booksonmynook.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

 
