Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Forty Days of Sacrifice

Posted by Caitie F on February 17, 2010

Today starts one of the most important times for millions of Catholics around the world – Lent. Now, I am not religious. I go to church on Christmas Eve with my family and that is usually it. I question religion in general all the time. I don’t agree with how the Catholic Church is run, and I don’t agree with what, or how, they teach many things. If you are Catholic, please don’t be offended – I think everyone should get to believe what they want, I just don’t agree with that.

So with all of this, why I am talking about Lent? Well, Lent is the one thing I do. I didn’t eat meat today (and won’t on Fridays), but I also didn’t go to church. For the next forty days, I will not have any pop (soda to some) or eat fried foods. No french fries, no onion rings, no fried chicken or chicken wings, none of some of my favorite Chinese foods.

In Catholicism, it is to represent Jesus’ forty days and nights in the desert being tempted by the devil (I think, it has been a while since I went to church on Ash Wednesday). I don’t do it because of that or because I am getting ready for him to rise.

I sacrifice some things I really like for forty days because I am really lucky – or blessed as some people may say. I live in a country where I can get drinkable water from a tap. I can easily get food. I can go to a doctor if I am sick. Now, our country isn’t perfect, but we have it better than a lot of other people. So I am giving up things I really like for a little while.

Some people criticize me because not drinking pop and eating fried foods is good for me…but so what? This has been my usual for the past few years and I have more energy and feel better in general. They are both things I really like, so I feel like I am giving up. My husband had fries tonight for dinner and I really wanted some! All in all, it is an experience I like doing every year.

Do you give anything up? If so, what? If not, what would you give up if you had to give something up for forty days? It doesn’t have to be food or drink, it is just what I do! Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

 
