Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Why I Read

Posted by Caitie F on February 15, 2010

Since I have not been reading much lately, I thought it would be a good idea to remind myself why I read and why I enjoy reading so much. This past week, I have not even finished a book…and I had six days off, so I think this post is needed.

I feel like I have always read. I learned when I was three. My mom is a teacher and always thought that reading early would have great benefits…and it did. Growing up, I would get a huge stack of books from the library every week. It has always been something that I have enjoyed. But why?

I like going to another world for a little while. While reading, I forget about the stress of not having a job, or whether or not my new friends actually like me, or what are we going to do if my husband’s salary gets cut. When I am reading, it all goes away for a little while. That is probably why I love fantasy so much – it is a completely different world. Lately, I have realized that I like science fiction more than I thought and I hope that has the same effect on me.

I also like to see how other people see the world, or how they think others see it.  I have always tried to have an open mind, and I think reading helps me achieve that. I will never know what it is like to be gay or a person of color, but by reading books from that perspective, I feel like I can at least understand and be more aware of it.

I also read to learn. I don’t read much non-fiction, but I am trying to incorporate it into my reading more. Right now, I am reading Blink and I find it fascinating. I still don’t know how much I buy the whole concept, but I think my review of it will be interesting.

I read because it is a reasonably priced form of entertainment, which is why I find the price wars on e-books so ridiculous. Books are already pretty cheap. I buy a book for $15 and it takes me 4 or 5 hours to read it. I could have spent that same $15 on a movie and popcorn that lasted 90 minutes. You can also reread the book for that price, loan it to a friend, or give it away in a contest!

Finally, I read because I love to talk about what I read with others. I had a friend ask me what I was reading and I answered and asked him the same question and he said, “I don’t really read, I just talk to people about what they read.” I thought that was very interesting and I don’t understand how you can do that. Unfortunately, the conversation was on instant messenger and we had switched to talking about the word Zamboni.  It will have to be a conversation that is continued at a later date.

I do love talking to people about what I read, which is why I am in a book club and write and read blogs. I always loved English class for that reason too.

Why do you read? Do you have different reasons? Do you know people who don’t read, but like to hear about what other people are reading? Let me know in the comments!

One Response to “Why I Read”

  1. I read to escape to another world and to learn too! TV just doesn’t do it for me.

Leave a Reply

 
