Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Midweek Musing

Posted by Caitie F on February 9, 2010

I tend to keep this blog about books and publishing and all that fun stuff, but I thought I would take a break from that today because I am not in the mood to review.

Romance

It is almost Valentine’s Day and that makes me think of romance books…and how I cannot stand them for the most part. I have tried, but it does not appeal to me. The situations feel so fake and the characters flat. Do you know good romance books? If so, let me know in the comments – i will give it another chance!

I do like good stories that have a love story within it…but it needs to be more than just the romance and it needs to not be stereotypical. I want a strong woman that doesn’t need a man to feel complete and who has other things going on in her life. Independence is a good thing!¬† So is finding love.

Jason and I are going to Boston this weekend to see his best friend and his wife. They bought a house and we haven’t been up to see them, so a long weekend is a great time to go! I have only been to Boston a couple times and didn’t see much. Do you recommend anything? Keep in mind that it will be cold!

Internship

I got that major internship and have been there for a week and a half. I love it so much! I don’t want to say where it is since I want to talk about it, but it is at a literary agency.

I have been reading queries and partial manuscripts that we requested. I read them, write my comments, and then an assistant goes over them (don’t worry, I don’t make the final decision). It is very…interesting. I get what people mean when they say something is good, but it isn’t for them. People are very specific about what they represent, so many things just don’t fit. There have also been some really bad mistakes. Misusing your/you’re in the first line of the query, spelling the agents name wrong, spelling their OWN name wrong, etc.

I did help convince someone to request a partial from someone, so I can’t wait to read it. I have been reading a lot of partials lately and it is a lot of fun. I have been about 50/50 on whether or not I think we should request a full. I read an amazing fantasy partial today and REALLY hope we get the full, I need to know what happens!

Weather

There was snow over the weekend and we are getting hit again tonight. Jason is off tomorrow, as am I, so it will be a super short week this week! I hope everyone is safe and has plenty of food and heat! I know the Midwest is getting slammed too, so I wish everyone a safe Wednesday!

I am hoping to spend the day curled up with a book, but know I will watch TV and play Wii instead!

One Response to “Midweek Musing”

  1. Congratulations on getting the internship!

Leave a Reply

 
