Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Posted by Caitie F on February 3, 2010

Title: The Secret Garden

Author: Frances Hodgson Burnett

Publisher: Candlewick

Hardcover: 272 pages

ISBN: 978-0763631611

Rating: ++++

Super short summary:

The story of an unhappy little girl, her invalid cousin, and the healing power of friendship and love.

Review:

I cannot believe I never read this when I was younger. I know I watched a movie version several times and loved it, but I didn’t get to the book 9so not like me). I really enjoyed reading it. The language is beautiful and the setting is descriptive. It is one of those books you can lose yourself in…and I did!

I love how the kids grow and change. It seemed very realistic. They were spoiled and stuck up because of their situation and once they were given the chance to grow and improve, they did. It also really made me want to start gardening in the spring. It sounded beautiful and relaxing. I remember that when I saw the movie I always wanted to go help my mom garden.

I thought that the concept of “Magic” was very interesting. There wasn’t magic or being outside that made the kids better, it was that they were working hard and were in the Sun for the first time. Now, I don’t think that nature and the Sun have magical powers, I just think that getting outside is good for kids, especially when it gives them a sense of purpose and excitement.

If you haven’t gotten to read thsi yet, go get it! It is a quick read and is a really enjoyable experience!

4 Responses to “The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett”

  1. Annie said

    oh this is SUCH a classic!! I used to love this when I was a kid (okay let’s be honest, I still do) and actually just saw the movie airing on tv the other day. It looks ancient but was still lovely. Have you seen Burnett’s page on infloox? There’s some pretty interesting info about her influences etc.

  2. I haven’t read this yet, but it sure sounds like I should. Great review!

  3. Jenners said

    I feel bad that I never read this either!!! I think I need to treat myself to it.

  4. Lauren said

    I remember watching the movie for this when I was little, but I never read the book either. Though, I think I will soon because of your great review. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
