Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Library Loot (1)

Posted by Caitie F on January 29, 2010

Library Loot is hosted by Eva of A Striped Armchair and Marg of Reading Adventures that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

I feel like I am not reading enough. Somehow, I have decided that is because I am not actively trying to read books from my spreadsheets like I was last year. I decided to fix that today and went on a massive trip to the library.

I went armed with three Post-Its of books I wanted to look for/look at. The first was from my two spreadsheets – one that lists books I want to read and one that lists the books from 1001 Books You must Read Before You Die that I have not read yet. Now, I can’t just look at the list and pick something because it is too overwhelming. A couple months ago, I turned to random.org and put in the range and it gave me the next 100 books I will read off both lists. Then I forgot about those lists for a couple months until today! The other Post-Its were books from a book that I cannot promote more to book bloggers – 1001 Children’s Books You Must Read Before You Grow Up. The book is split up into ages +, so I decided I would start at 8+ and go from the beginning and go get some books that they had that I had never read (or don’t remember reading) and that was a Post-It. The last Post-It was not for books that i would actually take out. They were all of the 0-3 books that the library had. I figured I could just read those while there (but will include them on my list, but not on my list of books read).

Well, here is my list with total pages of each section. From what I have out right now it is 4.656 pages. Luckily, a big chuck of that is in the larger print of books for young people!

0-3

The Runaway Bunny written by Margaret Wise Brown, illustrated by Clement Hurd (the second I picked it up, I realized I had read it as a kid).
Bedtime for Frances written by Russell Hoban, illustrated by Garth Williams
Bathwater’s Hot written and illustrated by Shirley Hughes
Elmer Takes Off written and illustrated by David McKee
We’re Going on a Bear Hunt written by Michael Rosen, illustrated by Helen Oxenbury (another that I realized I had read)
Kipper written and illustrated by Mick Inkpen

8+ (2214 pages)

Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm by Kate Douglas Wiggin
The Adventures of Pinocchio by C. Collodi
Little Lord Fauntleroy by Frances Hodgson Burnett
The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald
Back Beauty by Anna Sewell
The Swiss Family Robinson by Johann Wyss
The Prince and the Pauper by Mark Twain

and a couple bonuses that I grabbed while looking for other things

Stuart Little by E.B. White
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

1001 Books (944)

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
Cider House Rules by John Irving

Other (1498 pages)

The March by E.L. Doctorow
The Love Song of J. Edgar Hoover by Kinky Friedman
I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb

On Hold

Blink by Malcolm Gladwell
Size 12 is Not Fat by Meg Cabot
Project Princess by Meg Cabot
Surfacing by Margaret Atwood
Tales From Shakespeare by Charles Lamb
Water-Babies by Charles Kingsley

plus 6 picture books.

I am first on all of these (they are at other branches), so I should get them Monday or Tuesday.

Did I get any of your favorites? Any of your least favorites? Is there anyway I can read all of these plus the books on hold even in six weeks? Let me know in the comments

4 Responses to “Library Loot (1)”

  1. Susie said

    You’ve never read The Secret Garden???!!! AHHH!! Dickon is my favorite boy character EVER and was my first literary crush. I am also a big fan of Black Beauty. I liked Stuart Little just fine but it’s not one of my favorites. Swiss Family Robinson and Prince & the Pauper are great picks, too. I own The Cider House Rules but haven’t read it yet. I feel like I’ve read The Princess & the Goblin but I don’t remember anything about it. Will have to check it out.

    When I was younger I would go to the library and check out the max amount of books (which was about 25 I think) and be done in a few days and check out 25 more. 🙂 I wish I still had that kind of time.

    • Caitie F said

      I MIGHT have read it. I watched the movie so many times that i can’t separate the two…so just in case I will read it!

      I used to do that when I was a kid too, wasn’t having all that time amazing?

      Of course, right now I am watching an episode of Doctor Who instead of reading…

  2. Marg said

    The Secret Garden is such a lovely read, and you have some other good loot there as well!

    Welcome to Library Loot. I look forward to seeing your future contributions.

  3. beth said

    I’ve read all of your 8+ picks, and liked them all. The Pinocchio can be a bit didactic, but I like the flavor of old books. My family liked hearing Fauntleroy out loud, and I’m a big fan of Prince and the Pauper. I think you’ve got some good loot there.

Leave a Reply

 
