Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Absolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee

Posted by Caitie F on January 28, 2010

Title: Absolutely Maybe

Author: Lisa Yee

Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books (Scholastic)

Hardcover: 274 pages

ISBN: 9780439838444

Rating: ++++

Summary (from WorldCat.org):

When living with her mother, an alcoholic ex-beauty queen, becomes unbearable, almost seventeen-year-old Maybelline “Maybe” Chestnut runs away to California, where she finds work on a taco truck and tries to track down her birth father.

Review

My heart broke for Maybe. A mom who is an alcoholic and is constantly criticizing her. Being different from everyone else around her and feeling invisible. Having her mother’s latest fiancee try to rape her. Yeah, she is definitely a character that it is hard not to care about.When her mother got mad at HER about Jake, I wanted Maybe to do something drastic and was glad that she did.

An environment like that can’t be healthy for anyone and she found a way to get out, even if it was running away. I will agree with some other bloggers, sometimes Maybe gets overshadowed by some of the other characters, but I still really liked her. I also thought that it was good that she wasn’t always assertive to her friends. She has not had the easiest living situation with her mother and parade of stepfathers, so I could easily see someone in her situation be complacent with friends on things that don’t really matter in the long run.

I don’t want to give away too much of the book because it was so great to read it and not know any of what was happening, but I will say that it was a great read. ALL of the characters were great (well other than the ass Jake) and Lisa Yee has to voice of the teenager down perfectly. It felt realistic and authentic and I couldn’t put the book down.

Here is a warning though – while reading this book, you WILL crave tacos. Good tacos, Delicious tacos. Thinking about it makes me want some…too bad I don’t have anywhere to get them!

Have you read any other books that have made you want food lately?
Here is what some other people had to say – if you did a review, let me know in the comments and I will link to it!

Presenting Lenore was not a big fan and wrote a good review about why.

Katie’s Bookshelf thought it was ok.

This counts for both the
2010 YA Challenge
and
2010 TBR Challenge

9 Responses to “Absolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee”

  1. […] is my main list 1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (done and reviewed!_ 2. Absolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee 3. Blink by Malcolm Gladwell 4. Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson 5. The Queen’s Fool by […]

  2. […] 7. Absolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee […]

  3. Wow, I read Lenore’s review and now yours and I don’t know what to think. I’ll admit that you’ve piqued my interest.

  4. Caitie F said

    I really think it is a book you need to try for yourself. I think I was really in the right mood for this book when I read it and that helped a lot.

  5. Ari said

    I’ve read your review and Lenore’s and you guys both give interesting reviews. It’s what I love about book blogs, you can discuss books and have different opinions on them. I just got this book so I’m intrigued to what I will think of it.

  6. […] Posts Library Loot (1)The Help by Kathryn StockettAbsolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee « Library […]

  7. […] Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 2. Absolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee 3. Blink by Malcolm Gladwell 4. Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson 5. The Queen’s Fool by […]

  8. […] Games by Suzanne Collins 5. Grim Tuesday by Garth Nix 6. Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli 7. Absolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee 8. The Lonely Hearts Club by Elizabeth Eulberg 9. M is for Magic by Neil Gaiman 10. The Earth, My […]

  9. […] Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2010? Has to be Absolutely, Maybe by Lisa Yee because it made me look for YA with strong female characters and showed me what I want more of in […]

Leave a Reply

 
