Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

In My Mailbox (well…more like in my holiday gifts)

Posted by Caitie F on December 27, 2009

I thought I would share the books I got for the holidays with everyone. Thanks to The Story Siren for hosting this! I think I will do this once a month…if I get new books! I am trying not to buy many new ones this year – being unemployed means cutting where possible and since libraries exist, books are a great way to start!

My husband went with a theme this year…books!

The first book I got was 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Grow Up

It is a great book! I went through and I can only remember reading about 100 of the books, so going through it will be great! I think I may make a challenge that has to do with it…I know a lot of bloggers who would love this book!

He gave me some great books that are in this book…

The Jungle Book by Richard Kipling
The Wind in the Willows
by Kenneth Grahame
Journey to the Center of the Earth
by Jules Verne
Mister Monday
by Garth Nix
Grim Tuesday
by Garth Nix
and Drowned Wednesday by Garth Nix

I know nothing about The Keys to the Kingdom series, so I am excited to read it!

He also got me other books that looked interesting
The Missing Piece by Shel Silverstein
The Case for Books
by Robert Darnton
The Wisdom of Puppies
compiled by Ward Calhoun
and Julie Andrews’ Collection of Poems, Songs, and Lullabies by Julie Andrews and Emma Walton Hamilton

I got a sewing machine, so I got
Encyclopedia of Sewing Machine Techniques by Nancy Bednar and JoAnn Pugh-Gannon
and Sew Everything Workshop by Diana Rupp

I also have been cooking a lot so I got some great cookbooks!
How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman
Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child.

We also got two Eat This…Not That books since we are trying to be healthier.

I can’t wait to read all of my books!

2 Responses to “In My Mailbox (well…more like in my holiday gifts)”

  1. Amanda said

    That 1001 books book is daunting to me. I have a friend who either picked it up or who wanted to (can’t remember now) about a month ago and she was telling me about it. I don’t think a list of more than about 100 is anything I can handle. My brain would just fry up…

    • Caitie F said

      I agree! It is daunting! Even if you can’t read them all, it is worth having for the illustrations that are in there. There is also a lot of great information on some of the classics. I only skimmed it so far, I can’t wait to look at it some more!

Leave a Reply

 
