Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

Posted by Caitie F on December 4, 2009

Title: Let It Snow

Authors: John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

Paperback: 352 pages

Publisher: Speak (Penguin Group)

ISBN: 978-0-14-241214-5

Rating: ++++

Summary (from back cover copy): Beautiful present wrapped in ribbons, and multicolored lights glittering in the night through the falling snow. A Christmas Eve snowstorm transforms on small town into a romantic haven, the kind you only see in movies. Well, kinda. After all, a cold and wet hike from a stranded train through the middle of nowhere would not normally end with a delicious kiss with a charming stranger. And no one would think that a trip to Waffle House through four feet of snow would lead to love with an old friend. Or that the way back to true love begins with a painfully early morning shift at Starbucks. Thanks to three of today’s best-selling teen authors, the magic of the holidays shines on these hilarious and charming interconnected tales of love, romance, and breathtaking kisses.

Review: This was a re-read for me. I got it for the holidays last year and read it once then. I felt like getting into the holiday spirit, so I thought I would read it again! I asked for it because I had just finished reading John Green’s other books and was trying to get my hands on everything he had done. Was I in for a surprise! I liked his story a lot, but my favorite was by this author I had only just heard of, Maureen Johnson (and now i have read almost all her books and love her also!). I didn’t know much about Lauren Myracle and was pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed her story so much too…especially the message of it.

All three of these stories are connected and are connected  very well. Most of the characters go to school together, but don’t know each other very well, which leads to some funny moments where characters are trying to figure out the name of the character the reader got to know so well in the story before. I am not surprised that these stories fit together so well because these writers sometimes get together and write, but I really enjoyed it.

The individual stories were all done really well! I loved Jubilee and Stuart (and his family) – they were probably my favorite characters and their story just brought me warm and fuzzy feelings. Duke and Tobin and JP reminded me of some of my closest friends and brought back great holiday memories. And then there was Addie…oh self-absorbed Addie…while she was my least favorite main character, she gave the best reminder of how we should all act, not just around the holidays, but always. The stories were romantic and fun.

If you are shopping for a young adult and want to introduce them to three fantastic YA authors, pick up this book!

Other opinions:

GreenBeanTeenQueen

If you have written a review of this book let me know so I can link to you!

2 Responses to “Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle”

  1. […] am going to try and reread some of my favorite Christmas books – Let It Snow, Skipping Christmas, and The Polar Express. I may have to watch some more movies. I just want out […]

  2. […] – Stella Matutina – The Infinite Shelf – The Written World & My Friend Amy (buddy review) – Reading Through the Night – The Little Bookworm – Book Nut – Things Mean a Lot – Pub Writes […]

Leave a Reply

 
