Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Under the Dome – the purchase

Posted by Caitie F on November 10, 2009

My husband and I went out to eat then rushed over to the Barnes & Noble in Freehold, NJ to pick up Under the Dome, Stephen King’s new novel that we have been so excited about…and we almost tripped over the basket they had right inside the door in a small crate. It wasn’t to the side, it wasn’t on a noticeable table, it was just sitting right in front of where people were walking in and out. We were there for five minutes and I saw several people almost trip. That wasn’t the worst of it by far.

After we almost tripped, the first thing we saw was not a display, but a box covered in shrink-wrap on a large pulley cart. Behind it was a similar casing, only taller. Are you kidding me? This wasn’t 10 minutes before the store closed, this was at 7:30 at night on new release Tuesday! It looked awful! It looked like the workers were too lazy to set anything up or the delivery guys just dropped these huge boxes in the front of the store!

My husband and I quickly decided that we were not going to buy the book at Barnes & Noble and headed to the Borders that was 5 minutes away. I am wondering if other people walked out and went elsewhere also. It was poor management and we have decided we are no longer going to that store. Tomorrow morning, I am calling corporate and letting them know what happened. I have a feeling they won’t be happy (especially if someone trips over the basket and into the boxes. Can you say lawsuit?).

I also want to contact Simon & Schuster, the company that published Under the Dome, because the book was not easy to find. It should have been displayed where the boxes were, instead it was on the side and not so easy to find. I am betting they paid a hefty sum to get it in the very front of the store and it was not there. When we went into Borders, it was the first thing we saw on display. I am very glad we went to the Borders and didn’t give the messy store our business. We paid the same price we would have at B&N…and the membership at Borders is free!

Have you ever stopped going to a store because of something like this? Let me know in the comments!

One Response to “Under the Dome – the purchase”

  1. Tina said

    Dear Caitie,

    I came across this post by chance! I am doing a masters in publishing in London and one of my projects is to do a presentation on the publication of a new title.

    I chose Stephen King’s Under the Dome, mainly because I am an avid fan but also I wanted to see how it was publicised in the store and the streets. The main issue I am dealing with is this differs here in the UK and in the US.

    I have found alot of info about how it was handled here but I would really love to know from a member of the public how it was publicised in the US. How did you hear about the book, why did you want to buy it, what advertising do you remember, the prices of which it has been offered (there is a whole discount war here in the UK) and the main question would be the differences in the book blur. I am really interested in how different the blur is in the UK as the cover and the commercial were both handled very differently.

    Anything you could help me with my presentation would be such a wonderful help.

    Sorry to intrude on your blog but the insight into how stores were presenting (or in barnes and nobles case – not) the book in question.

    Thank you so much and I hope you are enjoying the book.

    Please email me at tinamories@googlemail.com

    Best wishes,

    Tina

Leave a Reply

 
