Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

ghostgirl by Tonya Hurley

Posted by Caitie F on October 22, 2009

Title: ghostgirl
Author: Tonya Hurley
Hardcover: 328 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (Hachette Book Group USA)
Year Published: 2008
Rating: ++

From the Publisher

“Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
And if I should die before I awake,
I pray the popular attend my wake.

Charlotte Usher feels practically invisible at school, and then one day she really is invisible. Even worse: she’s dead. And all because she choked on a gummy bear. But being dead doesn’t stop Charlotte from wanting to be popular; it just makes her more creative about achieving her goal.

If you thought high school was a matter of life or death, wait till you see just how true that is. In this satirical, yet heartfelt novel, Hurley explores the invisibility we all feel at some times and the lengths we’ll go to be seen.”

My review

I was not a fan of this book. I liked the actual writing and I liked the concept, I think it was just because I didn’t like that main character. There are characters who are unpopular because other kids are mean or they are shy, and then there are people who are unpopular because they try too hard and annoy people. Charlotte is in the second group. She is selfish (even when dead) and only interested in a boy. Even at the end, she doesn’t really redeem herself…she wants a boy to kiss her. Maybe if she was supposed to be a middle schooler it might be okay, but she is immature and annoying in every way.

There ARE some positives of this book. Parts of the book are funny, the pop culture references are clever, and the writing is fantastic, I just greatly disliked the main character. I think middle grade readers will enjoy this.

The best thing about the book is the design. It is a beautiful book. It is longer than most books to look like a coffin. It has a cutout on the cover that is very appealing. The inside has two-color on every page. It is a great design and Hachette needs to be complimented on it.

Since it is so beautiful, I am giving it away! Check out that link for more info!

4 Responses to “ghostgirl by Tonya Hurley”

  1. […] (RSS) « Prom by Laurie Halse Anderson ghostgirl by Tonya Hurley […]

  2. I keep seeing this book when I enter the store and I always pick it up just to ogle the cover, but I’ve seen some fairly mixed reviews of it. *sigh*

    By the way, you have a nice blog goin’ on; I’ve spent some time perusing. 🙂

  3. Rebecca N. said

    Thanks for the great review! I appreciate it! I still really want to try reading it. I love the Gothic look of the main character 🙂

    • Caitie F said

      YOu should try reading it! I loved the look of it and the premise, something just didn’t mesh with me for the story. I still want to try the second book because I love the writer’s style so much!

Leave a Reply

 
