Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Short Stories magazines…do publishers use them?

Posted by Caitie F on September 11, 2009

My husband just got his second short story accepted for publication in a new short story magazine called Emerald Tales

This magazine offers a prompt and writers do a short story that fits that prompt and the editor chooses 10-15 stories to publish. The prompts are creative. The first was “Follow the Butterflies”, the seconds was “Masks”, and the third is “Solstice”. These themes get stories of all different genres. It is available as an e-zine or you can get a hard copy mailed to you (but don’t expect a glossy magazine, it is brand new and this is one woman doing it). It is $5 an issue.
Why start a magazine like this now? Sure, there are still short story magazines you can get in the stores, but do they sell very well? Who is buying them? Who is buying this one?

Not to say I am against these magazine, I actually think they are a great way to give writers a creative outlet and there are plenty of people who love short stories. That brings me to my main question – how are they used in the world of publishing? Does anyone in publishing read them for work? If not, they should,

If I was an agent or new editor trying to find something new to show my boss I had potential and drive, I would pick up a few of these magazines, read some of the stories and pick a few that I thought were the best stories based on quality of writing, ability to keep attention, and how much I enjoyed the story and I would see if I could contact the author to find out if they were working on any longer projects…or if they might be interested in working on something. Who knows, maybe this is not legal, but I think it would be an I think it would be a great way to go out and get great talent.

They may send a manuscript and it may not have the sizzle that the short story did…or maybe you will get the next James Patterson, Mary Higgins Clark, or even J. K. Rowling because you looked beyond what you are getting in the mail or what agents are giving you. Could this work? I don’t know, but I will let you know once I get that job..

2 Responses to “Short Stories magazines…do publishers use them?”

  1. This is an interesting idea, but something popped into my head while reading it: I know a number of people who write short stories because it’s their preference–they have no patience for a full length novel. LOL

    Still, interesting idea.

    • Caitie F said

      That is true, but even if that is the case, if a publisher thinks a certain writer is very talented, they could contact them and find out about unpublished works. Maybe those works could go in a collection they are working on.

Leave a Reply

 
